Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 10:58 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default hdd being used 100% for nothing

turned my computer on about an hour ago and hdd is being used 100% by nothing. activity ite is solid. anyone know what this could be.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:30 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Huh? Your hard drive is being used 100% by nothing?
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:48 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

ya sitting idle with no programs runnig in the background except ccc g15 lcd program. the hdd is seeking and sounding like its wrighting to the drive but is really slow opening anything. i just did a system restore to the farthest date back and its still doing the same thing, and there are no viruses and does the samething in safemode. as i wright this it is slow to put the letters in the txt box.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 09:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deep River Ont/Omaha NE
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

I'm assuming you opened up the Windows Task Manager and check the Applications and Processes tabs?

Just for grins, you might want to maximize your Processes, in Windows Task Manager, take a screen shot and then post that image here. That way we all can take a peek at what's running and hopefully someone might be able to figure out what program is causing your problem.
__________________








Last edited by Dogger1; April 18, 2009 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 09:47 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya what dogger1 said . ( off topic ) just read your quote ha ha ha ha that's great really
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 09:51 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Go into device manager, delete your primary and secondary ide channels and reboot. See if that fixes it. You could be stuck in PIO mode.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:03 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

ok heres the process tab. last night it stoped being used but now when i wake up itd back to being used 100%. as for all the proccess i have stoped everyone i can and it made no difference. here is screenshot
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,494

My System Specs

Default

You're not running one of those All-in-one system managers are you (like norton's etc.....)?

I used to see this kind of behaviour with an older machine running norton's, and it was basically doing defrags 24/7.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:44 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

nope no norton.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:58 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I see you have 61 processes running. Click that 'show processes from all users' box to see all of the processes. When you are pegged at 100%, does no good to do it when your system is fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best gaming card for $100? magictorch Video Cards 13 March 16, 2009 05:19 PM
Best Soundcard for 100 or less. TwystedMonkey Audio 11 August 12, 2008 09:55 AM
100$ Processor... Copper94 CPU's and Motherboards 18 August 7, 2008 05:31 PM
An 8800 for 100$ Is is possible? TwystedMonkey Video Cards 27 March 20, 2008 04:08 PM