Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 03:54 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default random crashes - video or powersupply?

Hello to all:
One of my computers: (e6850, MSI P7N vanilla, OCZ Vendetta2, WD 640, visiontek 4870, xfinity 600 sli psu, 4GB Mushkin 6400, Win 7 beta ultimate 32)

Has been having random crashes, and in various configurations. When it had all of the above gear in it and Vista Ultimate 64 with a 9800gtx+, it did the same thing.

What happens is: I'll be gaming or surfing along, and all of a sudden, no video. The computer fans are merrily turning away, and it seems to be running, but my monitor indicates no signal. Heat temps are normal - 50 - 60 degrees.

Tried: a different video card. Went from the XFX 9800GTX+ to a visiontek 4870, clean install of Vista Ult 64. Same deal. Then: Dumped Vista and clean install of Windows 7 Ult 32. Same deal.

So now, is it maybe the power supply? Could it be a mobo issue? I've built three or four gamers before and never had these issues. In it's original config with vista and the 9800GTX+, it did run trouble free for about 3 months.

Any advice gratefully accepted, and thanks in advance.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 03:59 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

It might be the power supply.... however in my experience, when a PSU is dying you'll have a full-out crash and/or random rebooting instead of just loosing signal on the monitor. I'd suggest trying a different monitor for your system, then trying your system in a different monitor. Lemme know the results!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 04:05 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Thank you CMetaphor. I did forget to mention that I am on a brand new monitor, the 22 inch Dell. I had the same problems with my Sammy 22 - it is a 2253? 2243? anyway, it is only a year old as well and is now on another machine, so I ruled out monitor - at least I think I did what with 2 different monitors and same problem.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 04:19 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Well, by process of elimination then... Since the monitor is new and you've had the same issue on another one, and you've also tried a different video card... All that's left is to try a different PCIe x16 slot or a different motherboard altogether.

Edit: Try a different PSU too just for kicks. Its possible the safeties in the PSU are kicking in because the 12v rail cant provide enough current to the video card. Just an idea...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 06:34 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Good point, I have been using the same slot for the card all along. I have now changed to the next slot - both are x16 slots - and so now we can see. I have a couple of hours of gaming in with no problems yet. Fingers are Xed!
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 06:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Don't forget the easy swap and try swapping in some different memory. Probably not the issue, but for the time it takes it's worth the effort.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 06:53 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadzilla View Post
Good point, I have been using the same slot for the card all along. I have now changed to the next slot - both are x16 slots - and so now we can see. I have a couple of hours of gaming in with no problems yet. Fingers are Xed!
Let us know if it stays that way... It wouldnt be the first time i've seen a dead x16 slot on a motherboard.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 09:57 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Looks good so far, with about 5 hours of run time since the switch to the other slot. I would have never thought that, because the board is only about a year old. But so far, it seems to be making the difference. I'll update after a few days of use - and thanks!
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 01:13 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

looks to be a dirty slot ;) or tired contacts making poor connection with changing slots to stronger pins
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:29 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Sadly, I just got the same crash only seconds after boot up this AM. - So now Maybe I need to check again for bios updates? I dunno.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9600gt minimum powersupply kyle_L Video Cards 4 March 6, 2009 11:44 AM
Need a 12V Powersupply Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 8 January 12, 2009 04:48 PM
random crashes tom.mullie Troubleshooting 14 November 23, 2008 06:20 AM
Weird crashes when watching streaming video... iv:xx Troubleshooting 2 October 9, 2008 04:43 PM
Small Powersupply Cptn Vortex Cases 5 November 6, 2007 05:02 PM