Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:30 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Interesting... in that case, try a BIOS update and/or a different PSU. If it still occurs, its probably a dead mobo.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 03:17 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

MSI bios update = very strange. It wants me to make a floppy disk of Win 98. Uhm, sorry msi, I no longer have a floppy drive....could be able to find one around here in a box tho. Well, better go dig one out I guess. :(
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 03:52 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

or use a flashdrive with files on it
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 04:05 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Use this:
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 Download - EXTREME Overclocking
To format a USB key using Win98 files from a bootable floppy disk, making a DOS bootable USB key. Then just throw the necessary files to flash your bios on it.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 09:12 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Hmm - didn't quite get around to putting on a new bios. But here is the event log for one of the crashes:
System

- Provider

[ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
[ Guid] {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}

EventID 41

Version 2

Level 1

Task 63

Opcode 0

Keywords 0x8000000000000002

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2009-04-27T04:01:21.062500000Z

EventRecordID 6379

Correlation

- Execution

[ ProcessID] 4
[ ThreadID] 8

Channel System

Computer BlackAlien-PC

- Security

[ UserID] S-1-5-18


- EventData

BugcheckCode 278
BugcheckParameter 0xcaca6510
BugcheckParameter 0x92417a14
BugcheckParameter 0xc00000b5
BugcheckParameter 0xa
SleepInProgress false
PowerButtonTimestamp 0

Anybody know what that means?
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2009, 01:19 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

power management sleep event failed

best thing is to update your MB bios has fixes for Update CPU module,NVMM, Support Intel Smithfiled 830 CPU, Shorten system resume timing for S3.
- Fixed system cannot resume from S3 by USB Keyboard/Mouse.

current 2009-02-25 version 1.3 if you gave me the right data about your MB

best use cpu-z or everest to ID MB

to use the live update once you get ID to make sure you got right file for MB
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2009, 02:26 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Thanks KapTCrunch - so you think a bios update is the way to go? If I read your post correctly, I need to use cpu-z to Identify my motherboard. But wouldn't the latest bios from MSI for the P7N 750i be it? I did try live update and for some reason it wasn't able to run. I will try again when I get home from "work" today.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2009, 07:08 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Funny I have a similar problem with one of my old P4 board , I finally broke it before trash it , really make me sweat this one.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 06:36 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Ya mon, dataxpert, I hear ya. If it wasn't so good when it's running, I would have smashed this sucker in a million little bits by now. But I love being able to play games with everything on max. i might just buy a P5Q and a new PSU and go from ther if the bios update doesn't get 'er done.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 05:40 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

And if you look at my post in here about my issues - I say no Asus P5Q - maybe the rest are fine but everyone i have now talked to talks about very crappy engineering and i have proof. Man get a Gigabyte or something please. Not any of the P5Q series - Dont end up like my - it ran beautifully just like your board for a couple months with random crashes the all Hell broke free.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9600gt minimum powersupply kyle_L Video Cards 4 March 6, 2009 11:44 AM
Need a 12V Powersupply Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 8 January 12, 2009 04:48 PM
random crashes tom.mullie Troubleshooting 14 November 23, 2008 06:20 AM
Weird crashes when watching streaming video... iv:xx Troubleshooting 2 October 9, 2008 04:43 PM
Small Powersupply Cptn Vortex Cases 5 November 6, 2007 05:02 PM