Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 04:55 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default Crossfire and PSU

I've been asking a lot of questions lately, but this should be the last for a while.

Looking to run the HD4870 512mb in Crossfire. Would my power supply be able to handle it? My PSU:
PCV Online - COOLERMASTER RP-650-PCAR EXTREME 650W SLI POWER SUPPLY - Power Supplies

Thanks again.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 05:19 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Not with an i7 in your rig my friend.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:14 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't want to try it to be honest.
It might run, it might not. It could run Idling and then Cook when You put load on the Rails...
I'd be happier seeing something like a 750/850 Single Railed PSU in there.

Still , Kudos to the CM PSU that has powered what you have so far.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:18 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,945

My System Specs

Default

Wow I'd never let that PSU touch an i7...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 09:07 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Ouch, is this PSU that bad?

I guess I'm not going to take any chances. I've been looking at the HX-620 and the TX-750. Are those PSUs powerful enough?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 05:48 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Its not a Bad PSU , it is just going to be put beyond its capabilities.
A TX750 would be best bet in your case.
It has 60A on a Single Rail.
That should more than Suffice.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q regarding Crossfire Jackquelegs Video Cards 4 March 29, 2009 03:52 PM
Crossfire WTF? Squeetard Video Cards 29 October 22, 2008 05:29 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 10:47 PM
3870 Crossfire Scart Video Cards 6 August 17, 2008 06:14 PM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 08:53 AM