Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 01:48 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default RAID0 on the P6T Deluxe

I ordered 2 WD 640GB Blacks and they got here yesterday, so I popped them into the system, configured them into RAID0 in the BIOS, and then installed Vista onto the RAID partition. My 500GB Seagate is still in the system, and I haven't wiped it either so Vista is also on the 500GB.

However, now whenever I try to boot off the Seagate rather than the WDs, the Vista loading screen would come up for a few seconds, and then the computer would restart itself. It would then eventually get back into the Vista loading screen, load for a few seconds, and then restart again (repeating ad infinitum). Anyone know if this is a problem (and if it is, whether or not there's a fix)? Or is the Seagate just not supposed to be bootable after I add in RAID?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 01:51 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

You're in RAID mode to use RAID. You'd have to switch into IDE mode to use your seagate boot, which probably makes your RAID inaccessible. It's weird. So switch into IDE mode in the BIOS and give it a go, should boot on your seagate just fine, not sure what it will do with your RAID, though.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 02:37 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

I think Jake_HT nailed it. I want to set up a raid one day too, sounds like it was a breeze.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 02:45 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

The problem is your seagate vista does not have the raid drivers loaded. Disconnect the raid0 drives. Boot into seagate vista, install the raid drivers and reconnect the raid0 and boot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 03:07 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

booting from raid not sata achi mode but ya like they said haha
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 03:25 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Alrite, got it. Thanks everyone.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Eagle Eye CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 10, 2009 02:22 PM
Need help with Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Answerzz CPU's and Motherboards 26 April 26, 2009 09:23 AM
P6T Deluxe V2 and Soundmax question ... Dubravac CPU's and Motherboards 1 March 20, 2009 09:30 AM
Asus P6T Deluxe & RAID 0 Jake_HT Troubleshooting 15 February 19, 2009 11:54 AM
$332 good price for p6t deluxe? sheepdogexpress New Builds 9 November 6, 2008 11:08 PM