Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 03:43 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default Vista disc refuses to work on an old rig

So I've recently decided to make use of my very old rig, so that friends can come over and play LAN games without having to bring their computers. I decided to start off by installing Vista, but the disc refuses to do anything.

Here are the specs of the computer:
Asus P4B266-C
Intel Northwood 2.0 Ghz
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon 8500 series
22x DVD-Rom
40 GB HDD

I've tried putting other DVDs into the DVD drive, and everything works fine (movies and games), but just not the Vista disc. I've also tried running the Vista 32 bit disc on both my current rig, and another computer, and it works fine on both. So it seems like the DVD drive has no problem, the disc itself has no problem, and the old rig meets the requirements for Vista (though probably not Aero). Anyone know what might be the problem?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 03:48 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Double check boot from CD in the BIOS?

And I feel sorry for that computer for having to run Vista.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 03:53 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave510 View Post
So I've recently decided to make use of my very old rig, so that friends can come over and play LAN games without having to bring their computers. I decided to start off by installing Vista, but the disc refuses to do anything.

Here are the specs of the computer:
Asus P4B266-C
Intel Northwood 2.0 Ghz
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon 8500 series
22x DVD-Rom
40 GB HDD

I've tried putting other DVDs into the DVD drive, and everything works fine (movies and games), but just not the Vista disc. I've also tried running the Vista 32 bit disc on both my current rig, and another computer, and it works fine on both. So it seems like the DVD drive has no problem, the disc itself has no problem, and the old rig meets the requirements for Vista (though probably not Aero). Anyone know what might be the problem?
On that computer I wouldn't be putting Vista at all I'd only be putting XP Home on it. Vista is really to much for that older system considering it only has a 40gb hdd which Vista will eat a good 70% of alone.

Oh and why doesn't it work?

Are you 100% sure its a dvd-rom? Because I've never seen a 22x dvd-rom and its probably a 22x cd-rom which means it won't read the disc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:01 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
Double check boot from CD in the BIOS?

And I feel sorry for that computer for having to run Vista.
Yeah I've made sure the DVD drive is the first to boot. And it's not only a problem with the disc refusing to boot. Even when I get into the operating system it's running, the disc refuses to be read. Instead my DVD drive makes periodic weird noises, as if the disc is really scratched up or something, yet the disc is perfectly fine, and works on every other computer I've tested it on.

Vista will eat up 15 out of the 40 GBs, so that's almost 40% of the hard drive, but I only really plan on installing Warcraft III for DotA, and maybe a few other old games on the computer so I should be fine. XP looks really ugly to me so if possible I would much rather run Vista on the system.

I'm absolutely sure it's a DVD Rom since it plays my DVD movies and DVD games fine. I might be mistaken on the 22x though.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
On that computer I wouldn't be putting Vista at all I'd only be putting XP Home on it. Vista is really to much for that older system considering it only has a 40gb hdd which Vista will eat a good 70% of alone.

Oh and why doesn't it work?

Are you 100% sure its a dvd-rom? Because I've never seen a 22x dvd-rom and its probably a 22x cd-rom which means it won't read the disc.
+1 Sharp eyes ebanerif!!!! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave510 View Post
I'm absolutely sure it's a DVD Rom since it plays my DVD movies and DVD games fine. I might be mistaken on the 22x though.
Whats the make and model?

It may not be able to read all dvd media.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:14 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave510 View Post
XP looks really ugly to me so if possible I would much rather run Vista on the system.
And you like Vista without Aero? I'm pretty sure that Radeon 8500 won't be running it.

Best off just skinning XP IMO. Vista will run absolutely terrible on that system.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:19 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

I also vote that there is no way I would even dream on running Vista on that PC. It is gonna choke badly with those specs.

Vista will network with a XP machine just fine just so you know.

As jdrom17 said, Vista without Aero is just as hideous as XP.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:31 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Whats the make and model?

It may not be able to read all dvd media.
I have no idea what make and model it is, there are no easily visible labels or logos on it.

And yes, I'm aware of the fact that the machine will probably have a hard time running Vista but I still want to give it a shot. Any other ideas?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 04:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave510 View Post
I have no idea what make and model it is, there are no easily visible labels or logos on it.

And yes, I'm aware of the fact that the machine will probably have a hard time running Vista but I still want to give it a shot. Any other ideas?
I'm going to say its either one of two things:

1) The drive
2) The computer telling you to stop trying to kill it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a game to work with Vista? TwystedMonkey Off Topic 21 June 1, 2008 12:28 PM
Ballmer: Vista is 'a work in progress' stoanee Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 17, 2008 06:13 PM
downgrading 1950pro for an x800xl on a vista rig donimo Video Cards 6 January 9, 2008 01:49 PM
System restore won't work at all, vista 32 donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 6, 2008 06:35 AM
Will this card(old) work for my rig? bobaban Video Cards 7 October 25, 2007 04:58 PM