Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 05:51 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default Boot Up problem... Again!!

Well seems I am plagued lately with problems. Must be the retirement from the CF and not yet havng a new jod to go into. Grrrr....

In amny cast I have a new problem with Rig #1. When I turn on the PC it gives me the normal startup screen and then once it gets to the boot device it does nothing. I originaly had my DVD drive as primary boot device and it froze there, I went into BIOS and made my HDD primary boot device and still nothing.

I am guessing my Raptor has bricked? Could this be the problem or perhaps another issue?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 07:00 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Can your BIOS see the HDD? Try a Windows disk to access it?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 07:39 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

First things first.. Check your cables, Damned sata cables suck for the most part. The ones with no clips fall off ( Or half off and make the box freeze)
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 12:10 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

ok first things first before what is suggested above.1) whats OS are you using. 2) have you made any changes lately. and have you just waited for like 10 minute to see if it does boot? the last question I ask because this happened to me and after searching for a few hours I discovered that something I installed turned on some DNS thing so what was happening was that My OS ( Win xp x64) was searching or connecting to a network) once I turned this off it fired right up so check to see what is starting when you boot because your problem will most likely found in there.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM
Boot Problem DRYJESUS O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 January 21, 2009 05:05 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
Post or Boot? Preemptive RAM problem magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 11, 2007 07:30 PM
No way to boot sciwhiz Troubleshooting 13 October 27, 2007 05:41 PM