Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:56 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default Black Screen With Cursor

This isnt a big deal, it would just cut 8-15 seconds off my bootup time.

I noticed with windows vista, (im running x64) that after the green bar finishes, the screen goes black, then I can see my cursor...

It sits there for a good 8-15 seconds, then the WELCOME screen appears.

I was wondering if there was a simple fix for this? Or is it a common problem?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 10:00 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Common problem. I get something like 5-8 seconds. It's the startup programs probably taking up some booting time from Windows files, so it appears to be booting slower.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 10:02 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Common problem. I get something like 5-8 seconds. It's the startup programs probably taking up some booting time from Windows files, so it appears to be booting slower.
Hmm, so there's really no way to fix it then eh?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 10:17 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Disabling both unnecessary "Services" and "Apps" in msconfig should speed this up, I get about 3-4 sec.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 12:51 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Disabling both unnecessary "Services" and "Apps" in msconfig should speed this up, I get about 3-4 sec.
Please stop giving that advice out.

AGH!.

go into the services management screen if you wish to do that and if you wish to remove apps from starting up use something like Codestuff Startup.

Using msconfig to do these things has been gone the day of the dodo bird.

And before you do ANY of that.. check your error logs
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:09 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Please stop giving that advice out.

AGH!.
It works for me Enab...no offence, but why is this not acceptable? You've sparked my "curiosity"...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:52 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you're set to use maximum cores on your boot options.

See this link.

Boot Advanced Options - Number of Processors - Vista Forums

It then uses all cores instead of just one to boot and run start-up programs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:56 AM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Make sure you're set to use maximum cores on your boot options.

See this link.

Boot Advanced Options - Number of Processors - Vista Forums

It then uses all cores instead of just one to boot and run start-up programs.

Now that was helpful.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 10:00 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Not many people seem to know about that. Works in XP too.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 10:35 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
It works for me Enab...no offence, but why is this not acceptable? You've sparked my "curiosity"...
It tends to "break" stuff, and with the latest OSes(Vista, 7, XP SP3) most of the services are "automatic" meaning they only turn on only when needed, and then turn off when done. It tends to cause weird, unexplainable quirks if you disable them, and all for what, 3 seconds less in boot time? Because that's about the only performance boost you'll see. Gains are minimal, yet the issues it can cause are major.

Unless you have a specific reason to disable a service, or you know VERY WELL what your doing, your generally better off leaving them alone. Long story short, its more of an advanced tweak, that very few people have the knowledge to do properly. While you and me may know what works and doesn't work, most people, even most computer geeks, have no clue and would end up borking something.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new build, black screen on boot UberMoo Troubleshooting 11 February 7, 2009 05:09 PM
10 screen computer phil3_66666 Video Cards 5 November 11, 2008 10:24 AM
Black screen !!! Need Help toni_0177 Troubleshooting 10 August 29, 2008 10:22 PM
Phenom 9600 Black Edition vs. 5000+ Black Edition BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 13 January 21, 2008 02:56 PM
Vista/XP black screen problem r00tman Video Cards 12 October 3, 2007 07:37 PM