Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 2
Default Problem with mother board (gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R)

Hi all, I purchesed this board last year. All work fine until yesterday when I turn it off for monthly maintain(cleaning dust). And right after that when I turned it on again it started to turn on and off. And so I use my other comp and get online for help. I found out there r alot of people having the same problem like me with this board. I found one of the solution is removing all my ram but 1 in my mother board. Now that works on getting me pass the booting screen to window. And right away I downloaded the bio update. And use @bio to update my board to ver.F13c. All when well, until I try to put my other ram back to the ram slot. After that, the computer no longer turn on and off(it just stay on). But however my monitor just dont show anything. I try to remove the ram count from 4 to 3 and eventurally 2. But none works only 1 ram can get me through to booting screen, I know its not gonna be the ram's problem since I switch all 4 of them to do test and they all work if placed 1 only. Any info on how I can fix this problem, it work fine before with all 4 of them. Full system info is at my signature. Below is also some info I write down from my bio page. I'm not fans of ocing and such so I leave most of them at default or auto, not sure if those got anything to do with my problem. Plz take a look at it. Thank you very much.

DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD) [Auto]

XCAS Latency Tijme 5 [Auto]
XDRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay 7 [Auto]
XDRAM RAS# Precharge 7 [Auto]
XPrecharge delay (+RAS) 24 [Auto]

Advanced Timing Control

XACT to ACT Delay (+RRD) 4
XRank Write To Read Delay 4
XWrite To Precharge Delay 8
XRefresh to Act Delay 56
XRead to Precharge Delay 4
XStatic +Read Value 4
XStatic +Read Phase Adjust 0

My RAM
RAM: Crucial ballistix 4x1GB 1066 5-5-5-15 2.0 volt
__________________
Current rig:
CPU: Q6600 2.4mhz
RAM: Crucial ballistix 4x1GB 1066 5-5-5-15
HD: Seagate 500 GB
Mother board: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
GPU: BFG 8800 GTX OC
PSU: Corsair HX 620 wt
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 06:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Have you increased the ram voltage to 2.0v? It defaults to 1.8v. Also, the MCH or northbridge voltage may need a bump to run 4 sticks properly.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 07:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 2
Default

I tried to increase the voltage by 0.2 in my memoryovervoltage bio setting. But still I can run 1, but if I put all 4 in it just stay black screen like my gpu is not presents.
__________________
Current rig:
CPU: Q6600 2.4mhz
RAM: Crucial ballistix 4x1GB 1066 5-5-5-15
HD: Seagate 500 GB
Mother board: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
GPU: BFG 8800 GTX OC
PSU: Corsair HX 620 wt
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 03:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

if it worked before you opend it up, but not after, and you made no bios changes in between, i'd start looking to loose pci cards, wires that might have come undone, something "physical" because no matter what kinda problems someone else had, its very unlikely that the problem would magically pop up just by taking the side panel off and blowin some dust around.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] wtb mother board and cpu bigpino Buy/Sell & Trade 6 January 22, 2009 07:53 AM
Asus mother board with eatx12v help please mpis CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 25, 2008 02:46 PM
FS New Gigabyte P35 DS3R from RMA $90 shipped! rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 6 August 4, 2008 06:55 PM
RMA Gigabyte P35 DS3R rom0n CPU's and Motherboards 1 April 30, 2008 12:07 AM
Gigabyte P35C-DS3R tom.mullie CPU's and Motherboards 7 January 21, 2008 09:06 PM