Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 05:58 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default PCI-E X16 and X1 question

HELP...
Ok, I have the rig in the sig.....

I CAN NOT move my second GPU to the outer PCI-E x16 slot!

I just bought a PCI sound card, and it WON'T FIT!!! DAMN IT!!

So the question is, if I buy a PCI-E X1 card will it work in the PCI-E X16 slot that I have left over? That's the only available slots in my mobo...

HELP...PLEASE!!! I get conflicting reports from Google...

Thanks!
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 06:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

It should work, assuming that slot is always enabled. The card itself will definitely fit into the slot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 06:43 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

a 16x slot is nothing more than 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x, 16x and upto 32x
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 06:54 PM
Liu Kang's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 472
Default

It'll work.

What PCI sound card did you buy? If you can't return it, I might take it off your hands -- PM me if you're interested.
__________________
LK

WORK KANG: Silverstone SG03 | EVGA x58 Micro w/ 920 @ 4.2Ghz | Sapphire 5970 | 12GB Dominator DDR3-2000 | 240GB Revodrive X2 | SilverStone ST650F
MINI KANG: BitFenix Prodigy | Asus P8Z77i Deluxe mITX w/ 2600K @ 4.5Ghz | EVGA GTX 680 2GB | 8GB Vengeance DDR3-1866 | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | Corsair AX650
KANGZILLA: Custom MM Ascension | SR-2 | 2x X5650 | 2x SilverStone ST1000F | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | 15x 120mm rads | Under construction...

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 07:01 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,078

My System Specs

Default

Yes, your PCI-E card will work in a PCI-Ex16 slot. I'm doing it right now.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 08:17 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

It's the Razer Barracuda, but they'll take it back, not an issue there.

I guess it's the Auzentech then huh? LOL
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 12:23 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

it should work. I have a 1x tv tuner in the x16 on my gigabyte board on my HTPC.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 07:37 AM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

Thanks guys...I got a PCI-E 1x X-Fi Titanium (OEM) for $114. Works like a charm!
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes