Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 01:51 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Just read this on Vantec's site:
Quote:
Q. My computer sometimes recognizes the NexStar, but sometimes gives me errors.
A. If your computer is giving you problems with the NexStar, be sure to connect the USB cable to a rear port, directly off the motherboard or USB PCI card. The cables connecting front USB ports are not always properly shielded and cannot properly handle USB 2.0 speeds, thereby corrupting the signal between the NexStar and the computer.
Dunno if you have tried different USB ports on that Nexstar but figured I would mention it anywho.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 02:08 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Just read this on Vantec's site:


Dunno if you have tried different USB ports on that Nexstar but figured I would mention it anywho.
Yup different ports and different cables.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 02:14 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Well, running out of ideas. If you still have enough patience and haven't tried yet, turn off legacy support in the bios and make sure booting from USB is in none of the boot options. Could be that the mobo is doing something weird with the drive or USB ports.

Just press del to access the bios...
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 02:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

Are the original enclosures USB or SATA? If they're SATA, try connecting the drives (outside of the enclosure) directly to the motherboard, that'll tell you if it's the enclosure, or something to do with the SATA ports on the motherboard.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 03:03 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are the original enclosures USB or SATA? If they're SATA, try connecting the drives (outside of the enclosure) directly to the motherboard, that'll tell you if it's the enclosure, or something to do with the SATA ports on the motherboard.
1 is USB
1 is eSATA

I tried different sata ports ( I know they are working because the internal drive was always detected ) different cables. I tried the onboard esata port and a esata bracket I have.

Keep the ideas coming guys, I will be trying to get the vantec's back up.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 03:08 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

looks to be a EHCI issue

Turned on in the bios ?

i noticed model

NST-D100S2 is sata

an model NST-D200U is stat/eSATA
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 31, 2009 at 03:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 03:20 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Yup Kapt it is enabled in the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 03:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

Did you try threatening them with a sharp pointy object????
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online Hardware Detection bovine.baron O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 9, 2009 10:08 PM
External HDD Inik Storage 4 March 1, 2009 03:33 PM
USB flash drive space detection problems serenity Storage 5 January 7, 2009 10:55 PM
Logitech Setpoint software and Driver detection Eagle Eye O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 28, 2008 10:11 PM
HDMI Detection Issues CanadaRox HTPC Systems & Software 12 July 3, 2008 11:59 AM