Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default eSata Hotswap?

Can anybody help me out on this? I got an external hard drive with eSata. I have set the sata controller to AHCI, and installed Intel Matrix Storage driver. Problem is during boot up in the Intel AHCI detection phase, it detects I have 4 devices (I have 2 internal hard drives, 1 external, 1 DVD burner), but it only shows 3 ports being used (my external hard drive is missing), with the other 3 ports unused. So does this mean it detects 4 devices but 1 device (my external hard drive, and yes its powered on) is not using a port?!?!?

My Gigabyte UD3P motherboard also has purple jMicron sata controllers. If I set those to AHCI and plug my eSata external hard drive there, I can it in AFTER Vista has booted and it is detected and works fine. However, the problem is, once I unplug the external hard drive and replug it, it becomes totally undetected (I tried rescanning in Device Manager, no luck).

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 10:21 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,956

My System Specs

Default

So when on the ICH10R you don't see the drive while in windows? Have you tried moving the esata cable to a different port on the motherboard (but still on the ICH10R).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 04:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, I tried switching ports, but still not detected in Vista, nor in Intel Matrix Manager. In fact, sometimes Vista gets stuck on the loading screen win AHCI mode. It works sometimes and not sometimes. Very odd.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 06:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,956

My System Specs

Default

I would think there has to be something with either the drive or the external drive case/controller. I have no idea how it would be anything else.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
esata cardb elninio Storage 3 March 14, 2009 11:34 AM
2.5" eSata Enclosure - Any thoughts? jgerber Storage 2 February 26, 2009 06:46 PM
eSATA Cable Length Question Malam Storage 2 December 28, 2008 07:42 AM
Looking for feedback on using esata yamawho Storage 9 December 27, 2008 04:36 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM