Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 06:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Default Asus 4870 Low Performance?

Hello Everyone, I have been trying to solve this problem for about a week, but with no luck!

I recently put together my first computer and bought an ASUS 4870 DK TOP Graphics Card, but I do not feel I am getting very good performance out of it.

I initially could not get Direct X 10.1 to work in Stalker Clear Sky, nor could I get “Very High” detail for shadows in Age of Empires 3 without the two games crashing, or textures being removed.

I solved those problems by formatting the computer, and reinstalling everything (I had originally installed the ASUS drivers, and then updated to the ATI 9.2 Catalyst drivers – so I think a conflict was causing the problem.)
My 3DMark Vantage Score before I formatted was a little over 8,000 and a little over 9,000 after the format.
Here is what is in my system:

CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: Mushkin 800hrz 6400, 4gigs (2 x 4)
Graphics Card: ASUS EAH4870 DK TOP
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 640gigs
DVD: LG DVD Burner
Operating System: Vista OEM 64bit
Max Screen Resolution: 1680 x 1050
Power Supply: Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX 12V 52A 24PIN ATX Power Supply

CPUZ for Memory:
DRAM Frequency: 399 - 400 MHZ

FSB DRAM - 5:6
CAS# Latench (CL) - 5.0 Clocks
RAS to CAS # Delay (tRCD) - 4 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) - 4 Clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) - 12 clocks
Bank Cycle Time - Blank
Command Rate (CR) - 2T
DRAM Idek Timer - Blank
Total CAS# (tRDRAM - Blank
Row to Column (tRCD) - Blank


Playing Stalker Clear Sky with everything maxed gives me FPS around 25 or lower.. sometimes higher, but generally not. Also, I found that Age of Empires 3 would "skip" a bit when I would move quickly over the map.

I am not sure which monitoring programs I should run in order to see what part of my system may be constricting the graphics card, or to see if it is the graphics card itself.

If anyone has any opinions or suggestions that would be great!

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 03:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Default

No thoughts?

I tried the Fear 2 Demo. I only placed a few second of the demo, no fighting, not much on screen, and GPU-Z said at one point 80% of my GPU was being used!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 03:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

512mb card? should answer your question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 04:59 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

4870 sonic mine gets 50 to 70 fps in crysis yes i know it's on a 920 but 25 fps in stalker seems real low to me
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 06:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Simple question, but you never know..... The card is in the correct slot right?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Yeah, 512.

I am almost positive that it is in the right slot. Its in the slot closest to the CPU (Blue Slot).

I thought it seemed low as well. The Asus support guy said "My card should chew threw these games" since that answer, I have not been able to get any help from them.. They just said... return to where I bought it if I have a problem... but being new to building computers, I do not know if it is broken, not broken, or something else is not working!

Plus I think the 30 day return is over!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 06:30 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Vantage score seems right though...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 06:51 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

At that resolution that card should easily max everything out. Are you overclocked at all?
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 07:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
At that resolution that card should easily max everything out. Are you overclocked at all?
No overclocking. All I did was re-install Vista, install the 9.2 Driver and tried some games. I tried Crysis. Had to run on "Hight Detail" everything seemed fine, was getting 25-35 fps during the first scenes, but once I got to the docks with water and mountains they dropped to 9 of lower fps

When running Crysis my +12V was 11.90V at its lowest, and stays 12 12.10V normally. This was read by CPUID - I do not know if it is acurate.

Last edited by Modestyle; March 21, 2009 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 02:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Default

I just tried a clean book of Windows. On "High Detail" and 1680 x 1050 I was able to now get 25FPS up from 9, during the outdoor/dock/mountain scene in the demo. However, in Stalker Clear Sky, I got maybe 2 or 4 FPS hight (Same Resolution, and MAX settings) - I was getting around 12 FPS for both Clean/Programs running.
I really think the card should be performing better under both circumstances.

How much can the +12V fluctuate before it would cause problems?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video upgrade - 4870 1GB vs 4870 X2 Maplicito New Builds 10 February 24, 2009 11:40 AM
[WTT] Visiontek 4870+Cash for your 4870 X2 Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 2 February 6, 2009 07:00 PM
Need original Bio's for Asus 4870 PPCLI Video Cards 8 December 31, 2008 07:59 PM
Asus 4870 Top Bios CanadaRox Video Cards 14 July 31, 2008 10:08 AM