Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 09:19 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default My LCD monitor has gone black/won't come out of standby

Parts of this thread are a repost from a different thread of mine , I felt it would be a good idea to put this in the troubleshooting section with a proper title so people can find it a little easier.

--------

Problem / symptoms :

LCD monitor goes black randomly , or will not come out of 'standby' mode .
- Cycling the power on the monitor can get it back on....
- Sometimes , switching the input cable from digital to analog works as well.
- Noise from monitor when black.

Here's my case :

I run a pair of Viewsonic VX922 LCD displays , via an 8800GTX and a 9600GT.
I allow windows to place the monitors into standby mode after 30 mins idle.On my monitors , the power light is either green (on) or orange (standby).

Recently , one of my monitors started having this problem ; it would go into standby , then later when it needed to come out of standby , it would fail.....the power light would start flashing green and I would have to cycle the power to get it to work again.

--------

Potential causes :

Unfortunately , this problem has several possible causes from hardware to software , and it doesnt always present itself the same way.
-There is a 'black screen' bug known to exist with certain Nvidia cards/drivers.
-Bios/OS standby control conflicts can cause this.
-Hardware failure on the LCD , specifically ; Blown capacitors on the LCD's Power supply.

I spent a fair bit of time researching this problem , it was only by persistance that I stumbled across another vx922 user who had the same issue , and had discovered the capacitor problems.

I decided to take my monitor apart and check.In my case , this was in fact the problem :



-------

The solution :

Replace the blown capacitors.
--I have replaced those 2 capacitors , the monitor is as good as new.

------

Here's the deal :
Apparently , the capacitors used in some LCD's are just barely within spec , so they run @ 100% all the time , this can cause failures.

I replaced the two 10v capacitors with 16v ones , this should prevent it from happening again.

I've seen this exact problem with several different brands of LCD's , I think there are even a couple other people here with this problem......I'll be linking this thread in those posts.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 11:32 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

WOW Bad mobo caps all over again, I would have guessed with all the net info on that issue we would never see this again. And I would have been totally wrong. Get the word out, make sure everyone who can know knows, so companies like viewsonic understand why their sales slump.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 12:16 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Nice work!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 02:09 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Thx !

we might sticky this , I've seen quite a lot of this problem , and peoples monitors are approaching the end of warantee.......

-------

It's actually not 'bad' capacitors per se , it's underspec'd caps....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 02:13 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

I've got a 19" square BenQ which does this intermitantly, but swapping between analog/digital connectors fixes it up. Should probably have a look at it. :)

Thanks for the info.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 02:52 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Gee Wiz, I wish I would have seen this a while ago ( My daughter's Viewsonic was doing the same thing and she trashed it)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 03:09 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

Damn ... This should be stickied. Very useful info. I chucked a 19" out the window just before winter because it was doing that. It was fun though :)
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intel® 6300
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 05:59 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meth View Post
Damn ... This should be stickied. Very useful info. I chucked a 19" out the window just before winter because it was doing that. It was fun though :)

Yeah....until you realize that you just knocked out a police officer that just happened to be walking by on patrol.

That would be funny as hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 06:27 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

I knew this day was coming soon.

My second viewsonic vx922 bit the dust.

It's gotta be within a week or two of being the same runtime as the other one.

Teardown :



-----

Once again it's blown caps ;



-----

5/6ths of the capacitors went in this monitor.I suspect I'll be replacing others in the first one eventually.

Tsk Tsk Viewsonic. Reproducable problem.I'll be on the lookout for 'not-working' vx922's you can bet, it's a 4 dollar fix.

---

I've seen a couple more people with potentially similar problems as well since the original posting of this thread.......

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2009, 04:47 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default



Faulty capacitors in monitor 2 replaced ; Failed units in front.



-----

Monitor rebuilt and functional ; happy desk :



------

100% success rate fixing this problem so far.



I'd ask for this to be stickied again , although perhaps I'll just start an LCD repair business......
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Monitor Turns On For A Few Seconds Then Goes Black 300 Troubleshooting 0 January 9, 2009 06:58 PM
Black screen !!! Need Help toni_0177 Troubleshooting 10 August 29, 2008 10:22 PM
[FS] Black Eee-pc 701 4G blindfury Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 14, 2008 04:31 AM
Phenom 9600 Black Edition vs. 5000+ Black Edition BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 13 January 21, 2008 02:56 PM
Black Ice Radiators, which one? Kopi Water Cooling 8 October 19, 2007 08:54 AM