Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 10:40 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default stuck sensor?

just got my Q9550 and noticed that my 3rd and 4th core are stuck at 38c and go up from there. i have have ambient temp drop by 5 degrees and it showed on the other cores but those 2 stayed the same. when under full load they will go up but not below 38. im using core temp and real temp and both say the same. please help me.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 11:03 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

maybe some app thats running on set of cores making heat
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 11:13 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

So they go up when you are loading the machine, but only come down to 38 on 2 cores at idle?

So what's the problem? No one really cares about idle temps, as long as they are accurate under load.

You can try an IBT or Linpack run, that sometimes unsticks them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck Multiplier DK2 Troubleshooting 5 August 24, 2008 04:22 PM
oc stuck at 405mhz djnocide Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 March 29, 2008 08:24 AM
Stuck on my 1st build Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 9 November 2, 2007 01:36 PM
Odd Sensor readings. Dethredic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 October 29, 2007 08:08 PM
Need some help , stuck at 2.77 on e6400 bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 22, 2007 06:55 PM