Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 04:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 64
Default Blue Screen when Idle?

Greetings,

I've had my computer for a week now and twice I've gotten the blue screen when I wake up in the morning. The computer is idle during the night. Windows Solutions tells me that it's a problem with the hardware. It lists these items:

CPU, RAM, BOARD

When I use the computer, or run Prime95 or Folding@home, it runs perfectly with no crashes.

Anyone have experience with this? My system is OC to 3.0Ghz from 2.66Ghz. It's the Q9400 chip.

Anyone have this occur before?

J
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 04:53 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 862
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by HalifaxJ View Post
Greetings,

I've had my computer for a week now and twice I've gotten the blue screen when I wake up in the morning. The computer is idle during the night. Windows Solutions tells me that it's a problem with the hardware. It lists these items:

CPU, RAM, BOARD

When I use the computer, or run Prime95 or Folding@home, it runs perfectly with no crashes.

Anyone have experience with this? My system is OC to 3.0Ghz from 2.66Ghz. It's the Q9400 chip.

Anyone have this occur before?

J
Under control panel/system maintenance/view problem history...what does it say?
What mb, videocard, ram do you have?
__________________


CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 05:07 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,810
Default

what happens if do restart?

is windows updates on auto? loads updates an hangs after restart?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 05:14 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,239

My System Specs

Default

What Power Savings Mode is on with your HD's and OS ?
Find out and then change them to go into Power Savings in 5min and see if it BSOD's on you again.
I know that I chased a bug like that around with one build a while back.
There was one piece of hardware that didn't like it when the computer hibernated and it took me a while to figure it out.
Its a long shot, but that is what this sounds like to me,

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 06:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 64
Default

I have the AsusP5Q board, which has this EO-6 engine power saver function. I sometimes get a message that this won't run when the system is OCed.

J
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 06:37 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 862
Default

Well I would deactive that feature as well as AI and make sure you have the latest bios. I know that there were alot of problems with that board prior to bios revision 0801.
__________________


CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 64
Default

I had installed the AI Software. to "monitor" everything. By disable, do you mean in the BIOS or in the AI software?

I'll check when I get home which version I have.

J
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 12:52 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,152

My System Specs

Default

or....turn off your PC before you go to bed.
I am not a fan of:
1. Power saving features
2. Hybernation
3. Screen Savers

All of my PC's in the past have had nothing but issues when "waking" from Hybernation. I haven't even attempted and won't bother to run these modes with my new Rigs...
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 21.452
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14167916
MARK 11: 32.530
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12496075

Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 01:01 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,487
Default

I agree with RJ, either shut it down or disable all those features and turn off your monitor, I just dont like the idea of software controlling my systems power in that sort of way. I have also had alot of problems with coming out of hybernation and id much rather just run my PC all night as is with the monitor turned off, I normally do anyhow since its usualy doing something during the night. At night it pulls about 180watts out of the wall while its doing something, which is like me leaving 2 lights on in this house but its actually being productive lol.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 04:31 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
or....turn off your PC before you go to bed.
I am not a fan of:
1. Power saving features
2. Hybernation
3. Screen Savers

All of my PC's in the past have had nothing but issues when "waking" from Hybernation. I haven't even attempted and won't bother to run these modes with my new Rigs...
Same here I do none of that either
only have the display monitor go off after 10 minutes wiggling the mouse brings it right back up.

If the system is on.

Oh I do have the cpu throtle down on C1E setting

I have a P5Q motherboard and it great so far.

No issues to date yet.

I personally wouldn't spend hundreds on a heavily depreciable product like these computers.

Buying an expensive motherbooard is pretty much a waste now on 775 stuff anyways In my opinion 'cause new stuff churning out.
Even ddr2 will go kaput in a bit.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel SSD
Win 10 Pro x64




Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen O death with New Graphics Card Reddog Troubleshooting 17 February 21, 2009 02:01 PM
Blue screen keeping me out of windows. Jake_HT Troubleshooting 0 February 2, 2009 09:02 AM
THE BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH! help please! shayan288 Troubleshooting 5 October 19, 2008 01:23 AM
Slow internet and blue screen yycraven Troubleshooting 14 August 5, 2008 11:30 PM
DVD Drive caushing blue screen of death ? FrankyG Storage 3 July 13, 2008 11:01 PM