Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 02:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default PC boot fail

Hey all,

Me and my friend just put together a new build. Upon starting it, it runs through the post checks on the motherboard post monitor, but when it gets to FF(boot) the pc shuts off. Now is this due to a lack of os, or is their a defective part? We've already tried resetting the cmos.

Here's the parts list
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
BFG GTX 295
EVGA 750i SLI motherboard
2 GB of corsair PC6400 ram
OCZ Elite Xstream 1000 w power supply.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Wolfx25
__________________
Antec 900
Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P7P55D motherboard
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Superclocked
4GB of Patriot Viper II DDR3 RAM
2X320 GB Western Digital @ 7200 RPM
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Corsair TX 750 W power supply
Windows 7-64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 02:52 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

EVGA 750i SLI MB manual.pdf

PSU for MB not connected proper

also can be a bent pin on the cpu

would have message no os on screen

check hardware
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 04:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Ok, it seems like it works fine, and Windows starts to install, but then it just cuts out after a certain amount of time, not matter what we do?
__________________
Antec 900
Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P7P55D motherboard
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Superclocked
4GB of Patriot Viper II DDR3 RAM
2X320 GB Western Digital @ 7200 RPM
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Corsair TX 750 W power supply
Windows 7-64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 05:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deep River Ont/Omaha NE
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Going from easy to harder.

Make absolutely certain that your using the Corsair power cable, labeled EATX12, to the motherboards 8-pin ATX 12V Power connection; that the Kapt so kindly illustrated above. That EATX12 cable is a dedicated 8 pin cable and is the only one that will work to connect the motherboards 8-pin ATX 12V power receptacle to your PSU.

If that doesn't work I'd suggest removing the CMOS battery for a minute, check your manual for the procedure, location etc.

If it still doesn't work check the CPU pins and make sure that your installing the CPU correctly.
__________________







Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 06:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Ok, so the EATX12 cable is plugged in, and removing the CMOS battery did nothing. Could the culprit here be an overheating CPU? I thought I put enough thermal paste on, but I'm never too sure. Could removing the CPU fan and applying some more thermal paste help?
__________________
Antec 900
Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P7P55D motherboard
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Superclocked
4GB of Patriot Viper II DDR3 RAM
2X320 GB Western Digital @ 7200 RPM
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Corsair TX 750 W power supply
Windows 7-64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 08:35 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Just had this same problem on a new Evga 790i build, goto your bios and check for MPS Version Control in Bios and try setting it to 1.1 instead of 1.4 if you can. When I started up my rig with an E7400 in there I got errors because of this setting when trying to install my OS, has something to do with the bios telling windows what CPU you have and how to go about installing the drivers. Not sure if your bios is the same as mine but I would assume its pretty similar. My MPS control is in advanced bios settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 07:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Ok, I just found something else that may be causing trouble. Turns out the heatsink isn't properly bonded with the CPU. Two of the securing screw bits are jammed into their sockets, and the other two won't lock into place. I'm afraid to force the two jammed ones, but it doesn't seem like the not jammed ones will go in...
__________________
Antec 900
Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P7P55D motherboard
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Superclocked
4GB of Patriot Viper II DDR3 RAM
2X320 GB Western Digital @ 7200 RPM
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Corsair TX 750 W power supply
Windows 7-64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 07:39 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Did you try the fix I mentioned? what heat sink are you using? thats pretty bad but if its making any contact it should atleast be enough to get your CPU into windows Id think.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 08:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default

I'm just using the standard intel heatsink. As for booting it back up, I'm kinda hesitant with this heatsink thing. I don't wanna accidentally fry the processor.
__________________
Antec 900
Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P7P55D motherboard
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Superclocked
4GB of Patriot Viper II DDR3 RAM
2X320 GB Western Digital @ 7200 RPM
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Corsair TX 750 W power supply
Windows 7-64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 09:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Remove the hsf CAREFULLY by releasing ALL the four retainers first.

Make sure the stock hsf is ready for re insertion CORRECTLY.
Heat sink paste is good AND that VERY IMPORTANT!!!!!!!the pins that go into the motherboard hsf alignment holes are in the released position, not bent or impaired.
follow the manual for that.
Better to just get an Arctic freezeer pro 7....its pretty easy to go in by hand following the insructions.
Cools real good to and cheap.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ummm Folding Fail??? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 March 2, 2009 07:07 PM
Antec 900 fail WC log (First-time WCer) jaszypoo Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 5 December 17, 2008 04:43 PM
How can I make a HDD fail? klaiboi Storage 11 November 24, 2008 07:53 PM
memtest fail for two sticks, not one? Matty D Troubleshooting 3 October 7, 2008 10:24 AM
Does my PC epic fail @ mathz? tfran Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 August 12, 2008 08:20 PM