Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:08 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Yep socket A, and it was comparable to a P3. Single core. It was a great budget chip back in the day. I would not spend too much money on that rig though Cactus...

Lol I remember I tried to put together a Duron-based rig back in 2001 while I was drunk...put heatsink on backwards and crushed the core (there are no heatspreaders on those suckers)
Lesson of the day: Do not build a PC while heavily intoxicated
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Lol I remember I tried to put together a Duron-based rig back in 2001 while I was drunk...put heatsink on backwards and crushed the core (there are no heatspreaders on those suckers)
That's how my TBird died though I was removing the heatsink and totally sober
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:48 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Funny thing was it also damaged the mobo. It was Soyo board, and when we turned it on we heard a strange noise but no beeps or video...turns out the bloody mobo was talking to us in Chinese instead of a beep code.

Brought it back to the store in NF (Avalon Software to those from back home)...they replaced the mobo because it was retail, but the Duron was OEM so a new one had to be bought. It was my roommates rig too, newly bought out of student loan money....we figured
it would be great to get some Red Alert 2 action on the go lol
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:54 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Haha yep no heatspreaders; just a core and four round black pads on the corners!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single rad $$$ > Dual rad $$$ why? frosty Water Cooling 9 July 16, 2008 03:39 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 09:00 AM
Single Core fury chibi_man CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 8, 2008 08:34 PM
Single core AMD --> C2D sswilson Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 April 17, 2007 10:44 AM
Supreme Commander performance testing single, dual and quad cores Babrbarossa Gaming 0 March 28, 2007 11:53 AM