Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:08 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Yep socket A, and it was comparable to a P3. Single core. It was a great budget chip back in the day. I would not spend too much money on that rig though Cactus...

Lol I remember I tried to put together a Duron-based rig back in 2001 while I was drunk...put heatsink on backwards and crushed the core (there are no heatspreaders on those suckers)
Lesson of the day: Do not build a PC while heavily intoxicated
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,028

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Lol I remember I tried to put together a Duron-based rig back in 2001 while I was drunk...put heatsink on backwards and crushed the core (there are no heatspreaders on those suckers)
That's how my TBird died though I was removing the heatsink and totally sober
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:48 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,563

My System Specs

Default

Funny thing was it also damaged the mobo. It was Soyo board, and when we turned it on we heard a strange noise but no beeps or video...turns out the bloody mobo was talking to us in Chinese instead of a beep code.

Brought it back to the store in NF (Avalon Software to those from back home)...they replaced the mobo because it was retail, but the Duron was OEM so a new one had to be bought. It was my roommates rig too, newly bought out of student loan money....we figured
it would be great to get some Red Alert 2 action on the go lol
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Haha yep no heatspreaders; just a core and four round black pads on the corners!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single rad $$$ > Dual rad $$$ why? frosty Water Cooling 9 July 16, 2008 03:39 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 10:00 AM
Single Core fury chibi_man CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 8, 2008 09:34 PM
Single core AMD --> C2D sswilson Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 April 17, 2007 10:44 AM
Supreme Commander performance testing single, dual and quad cores Babrbarossa Gaming 0 March 28, 2007 11:53 AM