Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 05:50 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default No sound off my Onboard or my soundcard

I am puzzled , I have know sound at all it just quit I even tryied the onboard sound and still nothing I removed and replaced my drivers to make sure that isn't the problem. dopes anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 06:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
HIS Radeon HD 3870 IceQ3
Check your audio devices... I'm betting it's the ATI card HD audio set as default.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 07:21 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

I checked that earlier and it was set to the ati card, not sure how anyway I rebooted and it didn't change anything , I rebooted again and now I have sound once more , I am not sure whats going on because a couple of days ago it did the same thing hopefully the issue is fixed.

thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 04:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Now that you have the sound, can you verify which sound device Windows is using?

At a LAN party I was at last week, I noticed that pulling my headphones makes Windows (Vista Business x64) immediately choose the ATI card for sound, and force me to poke and prod at the sound settings to set it back to headphones. See if your computer has the same behaviour.
Also, to get the sound device set back to the speakers or headphones, I usually have to stop anything that's playing sound (music or game).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onboard E-sata not working Jonesy Troubleshooting 5 January 10, 2009 09:15 AM
What motherboard has really good onboard sound? HermesĄ˘ CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 22, 2008 04:39 PM
Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device nikitos Video Cards 14 July 24, 2008 05:18 AM
Onboard Audio versus Soundcard mazabe Audio 10 May 9, 2008 05:21 AM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM