Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2009, 10:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C
Posts: 50
Default New computer constant restart

So I just got a whole new intel core i7 build, and I was excited to put it all together, low and behold, once it's all together I start it up and it just goes into a loop of restarts. Now I've tried multiple things, taking the system out of the case, running just one stick of ram, trying different ram modules, rewiring it, and etc. But no matter what it just ends up restarting. At some points I can actually make it to the bios, other times not. Farthest point I got was, I actually started installing vista, and just when I thought I might be in the clear, it restarts, about a quarter way into the format. I'm starting to wonder if it's just the motherboard. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

System Specs:

Intel Core i7 920
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Ocz Gold 3X2gb ddr3-1600
XFX 4870X2
Seagate 500gb 32mb cache hd
Corsair TX750 watt psu
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 04:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Couple of things if you haven't tried them already....

Reseat your heatsink.

You didn't mention resetting your c-mos so try that if you haven't already.

If you haven't already gone through this list... 10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide try the steps in there, but it sounds like you have probably gone through all of them already.

Other than that... the only way to really know for sure what's going on is to start swapping components, and that's never easy to do with a new platform.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 07:28 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

One thing I'd also swap out would be the power bar you are using. Or at least plug in the computer directly into the wall. I've seen cheap power bars cause this type of problem. Took me about 2 or 3 days of swapping parts, returning parts etc until I figured it out.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 08:56 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

I would definitly reset cmos first thing.

Also , is the motherboards bios up to date ?
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 10:17 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

If you can, check the voltage on your power supply. I have the same PSU, and I had to RMA mine due to a faulty 3.3v rail that was causing my computer to shut down under load.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.0GHz - P5Q-E - EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 - Corsair TX750 - Coolermaster HAF 932 - Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - Mushkin Redline 2x2gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 05:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C
Posts: 50
Default

Appreciate the help guys. After trying everything I could, and doing all the suggestions possible, I just cannot get this thing stable..at all. No matter what reboots 2-3 secs into starting it. Last thing I'm going to do is take it to my local computer shop to see if ram is faulty, and test the motherboard. If all else fails I'm going to rma the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brand new rig restart in memtest ebdoradz Troubleshooting 18 February 19, 2009 08:45 PM
laptop turns off after restart FreakyStyley Troubleshooting 8 January 30, 2009 02:40 PM
Constant crashing & BSOD on new pc. Kayen Troubleshooting 12 August 27, 2008 09:17 PM
Constant BSOD, data corruption garyoa1 Troubleshooting 22 August 18, 2008 04:30 PM
Constant Ping spikes Phobia Networking 10 July 24, 2008 07:26 PM