Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 03:56 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default brand new rig restart in memtest

I have the following rig, sitting on my tech station and its only doing the 1st % of memtest then it restart.

cpu stock, ram @ ddr800, 5-5-5-18 @ 1.92V

any thing im missing ... i haven't play alot with intel mobo in the past month but its the 1st time i have this trouble.

all powercord are plug, read 24pin PSU, + 8 pin cpu + 6 pin pci-e


rig spec

Corsair TX650W 650W ATX 12V 52A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 120MM Fan



Xigmatek HDT-S1283 Direct Touch 3 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 LGA775 S754 S939 S940 W 120MM PWM Fan



Acer X223WBD Black 22IN Widescreen LCD Monitor 1680X1050 2500:1 5MS VGA DVI HDCP



Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Dual Core Processor LGA775 3.0GHZ Wolfdale 1333FSB 6MB Retail



Gigabyte EP45-UD3P ATX LGA775 P45 DDR2 2PCI-E SATA2 RAID HD Sound 2GLAN 1394A CrossFireX Motherboard



Sapphire Radeon Hd 4830 575MHZ 512MB 1.8GHZ GDDR3 2XDVI TV-OUT PCI-E Video Card



Western Digital SE16 320GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB Cache 8.9MS NCQ Hard Drive OEM 3YR MFR Warranty



Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 Cl 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit



Samsung SH-S223F/BEBN 22X Speedplus DVD+-RW Sata Dvd Writer Oem





EDIT : So far the best shot i manage was 4% with 8 error @ 406mb ....

does my ram is faulty or there's some ram timing that i missed out
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Try one stick at a time. Looks like a bad one, out of the 2.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:10 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

both stick have to be in same color slot right?

i have tired with 1 stick and the computer rebooted within 30 sec done to memtest

i will have to see what's going on with the 2nd stick ....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Slots depend on the board - verify what the manual says.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:19 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

they say same color ...

anyway ... looking good so far, for memtest.17 min done ... wasnt abble to do more then 3 min be4
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb



Last edited by ebdoradz; February 17, 2009 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Test 6 is the one to look for.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:29 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

yeah i know .. i will look at it carrefuly
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:47 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

test #6 passed ...
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 04:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

3 loops, no errors. Then swap sticks. Same slot.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 06:57 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

both stick run memtest for 6 pass with no error in slot #3
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop turns off after restart FreakyStyley Troubleshooting 8 January 30, 2009 01:40 PM
Sony Vegas Restart Prob Subz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 December 11, 2008 12:47 PM
Memtest + ??? crazyhorsejohnny Troubleshooting 15 November 26, 2008 08:32 PM
New Memtest v2.10 is released yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 November 15, 2008 06:29 PM
Questions about memtest shayan288 Troubleshooting 15 October 19, 2008 02:55 PM