Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:04 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default test dead powersupply?

how can i test it if its dead or not...

about 2 month ago, i bought antec truepower trio 650 for my brother and he said the computer wont be working...

and i will rma or whatever it...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:14 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Hook up a few fans to it, and jump pin 4 (green wire) with pin 6 (black wire). Start the PSU. Fans spins? Simple as that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Or use a multi-meter...need to check 12v, 5v, and 3,3v...and you GOTTA do as charlie says, and put a load on it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:29 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

interesting...

but... brother's computer have some fans... so it didn't spin when i turn up the computer... or you mean i have to cut the wire from cheapy fan then connect directly into pin 4 and 6 connector from ps?



if i use multi-meter so where do i have to point at? i am not electricity expert...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 05:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Well then IF everything is as it should be to run, including power to the unit and the rear power switch is at on
And then you turn on the computer and it does nothing it LIKELY is the ps.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 07:04 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyreman View Post
Well then IF everything is as it should be to run, including power to the unit and the rear power switch is at on
And then you turn on the computer and it does nothing it LIKELY is the ps.
Or the mobo.
The PSU is the easiest to test first.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:14 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

More specifically what 3 of 7 is showing you is this:

Lounge | Turn on PSU without motherboard - the 'paperclip trick' | APH Networks

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:50 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Great post EE! I was wondering the exact same thing this weekend as I found a case with a PSU near my recycling bin. Gonna test it out and see if she works.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:52 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

You're welcome Thund3rball,

Please be careful though, don't go shocking or electrocuting yourself.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:58 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
You're welcome Thund3rball,

Please be careful though, don't go shocking or electrocuting yourself.

Regards,

EE
Good point..
Remember kids, PSU's have a bigass cap in em... They'll curl your hair a long time after you unplug em ( tv's too)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a 12V Powersupply Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 8 January 12, 2009 04:48 PM
test CTR CTA Display Units 6 December 15, 2008 10:42 PM
Small Powersupply Cptn Vortex Cases 5 November 6, 2007 05:02 PM
680i DEAD DEAD DEAD sizerkozak CPU's and Motherboards 29 February 9, 2007 09:08 PM