Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 10:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Default Blue Screen O death with New Graphics Card

Hey guys.

I picked up a "cheap" Powercolor HD 2400 PRO 256MB 64 bit DDR2 SCS3 PCIE to replace the onboard graphics on my wifes premade HP system. She has the Asus (HP) IPIBL - LA (Berkley) Mobo with on board graphics...

Motherboard Specifications, IPIBL-LA (Berkeley)

Powersupply has been upgraded to 480 Watt ATX and I disabled the onboard graphics including going into the bios and selecting PCIE slot for graphics option before I installed the graphics card...

Oh yeah Vista Home edition is the OS, after a couple minutes of loading her crap on the system, the blue screen of death comes on.

Isn't the hardware device manager supposed to recognize that I put new hardware in? I use XP and am not versed at all in Vista...

I copied the blue screen error:

STOP 0x000000FC (0xa62ecc2c,0x5a5b0963,0xa62ecb68,0x00000002)

Now this has happened a few time and the first three numbers in brackets have changed but the only constant is the first and last numbers...

I went into event manager to look for common errors in all the crashes and this one seems to come up...

The COM+ event system detected a bad return code during its internal processing HRESULT was 8007043c from line 45 of d:\vistasp1_gdr\com\complus\src\events\tier\events ystem obj.cpp.

I was so fed up I tried the card in my system thinking it may be a bad graphics card and it worked fine...

Any help would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 10:22 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Have you uninstalled ALL video drivers and then installed curent drivers for the HD2400.

Ensure all previous drivers have been removed prior to installing new drivers.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 10:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

vista and video drivers have had lots of time fixing them all year long download the most update driver i find this always seems to fix the problems (make sure that you uninstalled all the old drivers)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 11:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Default

I went into device manager and didn't see anything there...

How can I be sure all drivers and the crap in registry is gone???

ArrrOOooo!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Default BAH! Driver Sweeper Done. Still BSOD!!! Can my PCIE Slot be fubar!?!

I got rid of all the drivers using driver sweeper, disabled onboard graphics selected pcie in bios. Shut down, reinstalled the Radeon HD 2400 video card, rebooted, waited for vista, waited for Vista to recognize the card or ask for driver, it did neither!

After less than 5 min it went to BSOD with:

STOP 0x000000FC (0XA62ECC2C, 0X577C0963, 0XA2E2CB68, 0X00000002)

So the STOP "0X000000FC" code stays the same as does the "0X00000002" but the middle 3 codes change, does thismean anything to anybody!?!

As I said the graphics card was tested with my gaming rig and it works fine...

Could I have damaged the PCIE slot?

Is there a online test or program that can run a diagnostic on your mobo?


ArrrOOooo!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:42 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

this is a driver trying to access memory that is not set for it.
p.s did you download the most up to date drivers from ati
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 08:57 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

he said he disabled it twice :rtfm:

You may look to see if you have any memory options for allocated graphics memory or something. I know my HP did, you may still have a bunck of mem allocated to the onboard and the GPU is trying to get it. Long shot for sure and I have no idea if I am way off base or not, but easy enough to check.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 09:58 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

According to the microsoft database , a 0x000000fc error is the reult of a driver trying to access memory that is protected by DEP......

You receive a Stop error when a driver is not compatible with the Data Execution Prevention (DEP) feature in Windows XP Service Pack 2 or in Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005

I'd suggest running drivercleaner , but it looks like the new versions cost 10$ , and you'll need that for vista.

The other fix is to disable DEP : quote :
"Click Start > Run > type: CMD > Click OK

type: bootcfg /raw “/noexecute=alwaysoff /fastdetect” /id 1

press Enter

Reenable your driver - reboot pc and see if this helps"



edit : I'm just doublechecking those instructions for turning off DEP...
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; February 16, 2009 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 10:09 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

answering question i can read
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 10:16 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

+1 to braineater and yes its driver is trying to access memory its not assigned
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flickering screen (of death) GregH Troubleshooting 8 February 13, 2009 09:04 PM
THE BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH! help please! shayan288 Troubleshooting 5 October 19, 2008 01:23 AM
Red screen of death Dar_ell Troubleshooting 13 August 30, 2008 03:55 PM
Slow internet and blue screen yycraven Troubleshooting 14 August 5, 2008 11:30 PM
DVD Drive caushing blue screen of death ? FrankyG Storage 3 July 13, 2008 11:01 PM