Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:21 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default Freezing while gaming

I've been playing games today for the first time in a while. I've just installed a fresh Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit install and updated everything. I'm using the latest 181.22 nVidia drivers and I switch back and forth between SLI enabled and disabled depending on whether I'm gaming or folding.

I noticed that Crysis locks up almost right away. Warhead does, but takes a little longer. I've been playing FEAR and it can go for maybe 30-45 minutes, then it locks up. I'm running the fans on my GTX 285s at 80% and I think they're staying cool enough. My case airflow isn't great as it's set up for water (the blocks should be here sometime within the next week!).

So any ideas? Should I start trying other drivers?

My cards are not overclocked and my CPU+RAM overclock has passed just about every stress test to my satisfaction and I crunch 24/7.

I don't get it
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Do you have Grid or GTA4?

Does the system hardlock, or just the app?

VGA overclocked? Unstable vga ram can cause this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:38 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

i had that problem and it was with my ram overclocked , set it to auto and BAM no more game lockups :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:53 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,832
Default

yea, try setting your ram to 8-8-8-24-74
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:55 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Do you have Grid or GTA4?

Does the system hardlock, or just the app?

VGA overclocked? Unstable vga ram can cause this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post

My cards are not overclocked and my CPU+RAM overclock has passed just about every stress test to my satisfaction and I crunch 24/7.
The system hardlocks. I have to do a hard reset. No bluescreen, but things just stay on whatever game screen freezes. I suppose if it happens again, I'll wait for a while and see what happens. I also get a high pitched squeal in my headphones when this happens.

I've backed the RAM down to 1600 and the CPU to 3.8GHz so let's see what happens. I have been running 3.9GHz (206x19) and 1640MHz RAM 7-8-7-20
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:06 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,669
Default

Try switching to other PCI-E connectors on the HX1000.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:10 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I've just relaxed the RAM to 8-8-8 and I'm going to give that a shot.

For some reason, Crysis now doesn't even want to start so I'm going to try another game and see what happens.

I just played about 20 minutes of Warhead with the 3.8 CPU and the RAM at 1600, but I like my 3.9GHz 24/7 clocks and the difference from 7-8-7 to 8-8-8 is 0.04 ns in Everest latency (ie. nothing)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:38 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

No luck with 8-8-8 timings with FEAR.

It froze after 10 minutes.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

If the image remains, chances are it's the gpu, and hence SKY's recommendation.

there's a chance, maybe, that you DX has been corrupted, causing vga memory to not clear itself. You should be abel to confirm this by going back to stock...issues? Re-install DX, but please do this AFTER removing vga drivers...before re0installing vga drivers, update DX, then install vga drivers.

If that should fail, then I'd look at an OS install.

Image onscreen points to vga issues, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 04:28 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Zlojack, for arguments sake back off your overclock a tad, Cyrsis is pretty sensitive due to its notoriously bad coding and it will crash even on the most stable of overclocks. In my experience this has usually solved the problem and don't worry about a major performance hit, as we all know Crysis doesn't seem to respond much to even the fastest system out there.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help:system freezing CORE Troubleshooting 3 December 27, 2008 01:56 PM
Mysterious Freezing Rooke Troubleshooting 4 October 27, 2008 06:19 PM
help with random freezing r3d Troubleshooting 14 August 31, 2008 07:46 PM
Games freezing randomly... iv:xx Troubleshooting 6 April 21, 2008 08:47 PM
Random Freezing Infiniti Troubleshooting 2 November 27, 2007 08:34 PM