Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 6, 2009, 06:51 AM
Rookie

Default New build, monitor not recognized, HELP!!!

Hey guys,

As this is my first build, it's only inevitable that something doesn't work. I will list my specs below. Ultimately, my computer is not recognizing my monitor, the monitor is not receiving any signal whatsoever. The monitor itself is fine, it works with my old computer. I have tried both VGA slots and the DVI port and it's the same with all of them, no signal. When I turn the computer all, everything seems to boot up fine, the CPU, GPU, chassis and PSU fan all turn on, the DVD writer opens/closes, seems to read cd's, the HDD makes the usual noises. The green LED on the mobo turns on. I removed the video card and plugged it into the onboard video, nothing. I have started it with no RAM, the mobo beeps. So I turn to the experts, you guys, for help.

CM Elite 330 case with 460w PSU
Intel E5200 dual core CPU
BFG 9400
G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Dual Channel Memory
ASUS P5KPL-CM mATX Intel G31 LGA775 1PCI-16 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard
Seagate 500 GB HD
LG DVD writer.

I fully admit I am very inexperienced with computers, but I want to learn, hence building it myself. Does anyone have any advice, or want me to try anything specific?

Please help!!

Thanks in advance

Chris
Old February 6, 2009, 07:10 AM
F@H

My System Specs

Do you have another monitor to trouble shoot with?
Double check all your connetions (power going to MB etc...).
Is that PSU an OEM type that came with the case?
Something is nagging me that it may not have the right stuff to power that system, but for me thats just a guess.
Put in only 1 stick of RAM , and if nothing happens, move the slot the RAM is in.

Only things I can really think of at this time,

Regards,
ST