Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 06:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default New build, monitor not recognized, HELP!!!

Hey guys,

As this is my first build, it's only inevitable that something doesn't work. I will list my specs below. Ultimately, my computer is not recognizing my monitor, the monitor is not receiving any signal whatsoever. The monitor itself is fine, it works with my old computer. I have tried both VGA slots and the DVI port and it's the same with all of them, no signal. When I turn the computer all, everything seems to boot up fine, the CPU, GPU, chassis and PSU fan all turn on, the DVD writer opens/closes, seems to read cd's, the HDD makes the usual noises. The green LED on the mobo turns on. I removed the video card and plugged it into the onboard video, nothing. I have started it with no RAM, the mobo beeps. So I turn to the experts, you guys, for help.

CM Elite 330 case with 460w PSU
Intel E5200 dual core CPU
BFG 9400
G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Dual Channel Memory
ASUS P5KPL-CM mATX Intel G31 LGA775 1PCI-16 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard
Seagate 500 GB HD
LG DVD writer.


I fully admit I am very inexperienced with computers, but I want to learn, hence building it myself. Does anyone have any advice, or want me to try anything specific?

Please help!!

Thanks in advance

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 07:10 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Do you have another monitor to trouble shoot with?
Double check all your connetions (power going to MB etc...).
Is that PSU an OEM type that came with the case?
Something is nagging me that it may not have the right stuff to power that system, but for me thats just a guess.
Put in only 1 stick of RAM , and if nothing happens, move the slot the RAM is in.

Only things I can really think of at this time,

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 07:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

At this time I don't have a second monitor. I did take this problem pc to a friends for diagnosis and the same thing occurred with his monitor. He suggested faulty mobo but I am skeptical.

The PSU is a 460W that came with the case. You could be on the right track, but I was assured it would be able to run a comp with my components no problem. Maybe it could be faulty? I don't know.

I have tried switching and swapping the RAM, nothing changed. I will continue to try different scenarios, see if anything works.

Thanks for the quick reply, much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 07:40 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

What brand is the PSU?

EE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 07:43 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

I hate to say it, but those OEM PSU's are not that great. Try a different one if possible. It took me 2 weeks to burn one out (literally burn) on an old AMD 939 setup (450W).

That would be my best guess in regards to this, although not getting signal with your onboard seems kinda odd , but again these are just my thoughts.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 07:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

NCIX FORUMS - Who makes the PSU? - Coolermaster Elite RC-330 ATX Black Mid ...


I am not sure what brand the OEM PSU is, I will let you know when I get home this afternoon. I don't think the PSU is the problem, but I could be wrong. Everything seems to power up fine, and I'm not sure how the PSU would affect the monitor being recognized, but I guess stranger things have happened.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 22'' to 24'' LCD monitor Jacka Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 27, 2009 04:46 PM
2nd ATI card not recognized? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 0 January 26, 2008 07:17 PM
My 5G iPod is not recognized by my PC pitwa Peripherals 1 August 22, 2007 01:29 PM
USB monitor anyone? Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 18, 2007 01:19 PM
IDE Drives not recognized mattydies Troubleshooting 2 April 23, 2007 01:30 PM