Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 07:52 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default HALP! i7 build issues!

Alright, so I FINALLY got the RAM here for my i7 setup today, and was so excited that I couldn't wait to buy a new case for it. I set it all up on a temporary cardboard box that my motherboard came in. I turned it on the first time and the CPU heatsink fan, 4850 fan, and PSU fan spun a tiny bit, and then this orange LED turned on and it stays on until I switch off the power (obviously). Has someone ever had a problem like this? Anyone have any advice?

BTW I got a youtube video currently uploading to give anyone a clear picture of what's going on. I will update with link when it's done.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 08:08 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Maybe memory problems- is it an ASUS P6T? make sure memory are in the right slots- try booting with only one stick.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 08:19 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Actually it's eVGA X58, sorry for forgetting specs. CPU is just i7 920, RAM is 6GB OCZ Gold XTC DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24. Booted with one stick, made sure RAM is in proper slots.

I got youtube video of what's going on:

YouTube - i7 Problem AHH!
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by ImmaPC; February 5, 2009 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 08:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Reset CMOS, remove battery for 30 seconds. Double-check electrical connections, especially the 8-pin EPS connector.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 08:40 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

^ Check. EPS is DEFINITELY in, as well as the 24-Pin (forget what the power connectors are called). Cleared CMOS, took out battery, still no dice.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 10:17 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Double check that there are no shorts in the cabling, try with only 1 stick of ram, try with the video card in a different slot.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 10:22 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure that the orange LED is suppose to be on, since it is on for me right now too. Try using another PSU, though I doubt it is, since the light goes on even when it turns off. It might be worth a shot though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 10:43 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Great, lol that PSU is the only one I got with an 8-pin EPS connector instead of 4-pin...guess I gotta borrow one off my buddy.

I'm praying the damn thing isn't broken, it was expensive and do you need the receipt for an RMA cause I forgot where I put it... :(
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 10:47 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
Great, lol that PSU is the only one I got with an 8-pin EPS connector instead of 4-pin...guess I gotta borrow one off my buddy.

I'm praying the damn thing isn't broken, it was expensive and do you need the receipt for an RMA cause I forgot where I put it... :(
For the RMA, depending on the situation, you'll need the receipt. If you bought it from NCIX, they might be able to find your invoice, especially of you ordered online.

For now, try using your current PSU to power the i7 system. You don't need to take it out, just plug it in the necessary things to power the system.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 08:36 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Yeah, that's what I'm doing but it doesn't seem to be working. Might I ask, if it were the PSU malfunctioning, then why does the blue LED by the 24-pin connector come on when I switch on the PSU (indicating that there is power to the motherboard)?

And actually I went to the store and paid in cash for the thing, would they be able to retrieve a new invoice for me given that scenario?
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by ImmaPC; February 6, 2009 at 08:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LG GH22NS30 issues Crapalier Troubleshooting 0 December 22, 2008 05:17 PM
Motherboard Issues ImmaPC CPU's and Motherboards 13 December 13, 2008 11:45 PM
Which radiator? (issues) Micmal Water Cooling 2 June 19, 2008 12:23 AM
Issues with TF2. NuxTux Gaming 0 January 11, 2008 12:27 PM
4 kit ram compatibility issues? AERo RAM 3 December 19, 2007 01:15 PM