Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Exclamation GA-EP45-DQ6 MB will not boot to windows

hey guys
I have put this together and now having problems, anyone have one of these boards running?


My new MB is not booting to windows (I get the single post beep), it will just keep looping/rebooting to the safemode screen after POST.will not go in safemode either.
There are MB acpi led's on , where do I find/get the info on the led warning lights??.
should they be on ?
S4-5 and SO led's are on.
what color should it be ? its red on S4-5 on standby and green on S0 when booting.
It also will not recognize my sata DVD


M/B GA-EP45-DQ6(rev. 1.0)
* BIOS Ver:F5
* Memory brand :aeneon 2x1gb ddr2 1066

* VGA Brand :9800gt
* CPU Brand : Duo E8400
* Operation System : xp sp2

Power Supply : 750


any suggestions ???:help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:15 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

Does it load the windows screen at least?
What windows? Xp/vista/32/64...
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default

it loads to the safemode screen , then reboots after 20 seconds if I dont do anything , trying safemode dosnt help
I do get a bluescreen flash but its to fast to see what it says

XP 32 Sp2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:27 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

Make sure in your BIOS you're not still set to RAID mode. Not sure if it's like mine but there are 3 sata config modes for me:

IDE
RAID
AHCI

Set it to IDE if it's not, and try that.

I've been having the same behavior all weeked... I would show windows loading screen and then a blue screen that is too fast to even tell if the text is there.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:30 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

Your machine posts, gets into bios, and fails Windows boot right?

If it's a different mobo with an old XP install on your hard drive, you'll probably have to re-install XP. It checks to see if the chipset/CPU have changed since the last successful boot.

As for the DVD drive, try moving the sata cable to a different port.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 10:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default

checked the IDE

hmmmm okay yes thats right about the HD ,

I do have a new sata but it dosnt see it , I'll remove the old hd and try and get the sata one loaded
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 11:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default

hey THANKS sugarJ

moved both the sata's,dvd&HD (not where the manual says to put them in ) and set to boot to cd , its loading up the new HD now .
Not used to this bios , bit differant then my asus
I quess the LED's are supposed to be lit

:)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 11:45 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

No problem. Glad it's working for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP endless boot loop Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 13 December 29, 2008 11:03 AM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 08:46 PM
Help NEED A BOOT CD IN THE DRIVE TO START WINDOWS!!!! Madeinedmundston Troubleshooting 12 December 5, 2008 03:39 PM
No boot after Windows update. Pilot_dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 May 19, 2008 02:00 PM
AAARGH, can't boot into windows AGAIN, different PC!!! donimo Troubleshooting 16 January 28, 2008 10:08 AM