Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 05:43 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default Asus P6T Deluxe & RAID 0

Has ANYONE successfully installed windows XP on a RAID 0 setup using the onboard RAID controller on this motherboard? I might just have to get a RAID controller to do this

I have tried literally everything imaginable.. with the drivers on a floppy.. it seems the drivers are faulty. I even downloaded the ones off ASUS and intels site instead of using the ones on the support DVD with NO luck..

Has anyone did it? If so, what the hell did you do!

I did:

Set my 2 320GB drives from RAID mode, went in to the RAID setup (Ctrl + I) and set up my RAID 0 128k stripe no problem at all.

Tried to install windows from here = blue screen as soon as windows setup starts to load.

Switched to IDE mode, windows setup loads, doesn't recognize RAID, shows 2 seperate 320 GB drives.

Installed 64Bit drivers on Floppy drive (both in and out of windows) and try to use one of the 5 RAID drivers in windows setup = Error 4000 something on line 2000 something on each one.. Both same error in RAID mode and IDE mode in 32 bit and 64 bit windows with both bit drivers from the support DVD and asus and intels site (literally, everything possible)..

Still get errors.

So, has anyone done it? It seems to me like the drivers for the onboard RAID controller for this board are incompatible with XP (yes, both 32 and 64 bit I have both).

HOW did you do it? Thanks.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:14 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

I'm starting to think this is something to due with my service pack 1 disk... maybe if I had a sp2 disk I wouldn't have these problems..

now I'm blue screened out of the OS entirely.. attempting a repair..

EDIT: Repair worked flawlessly.. but no RAID obviously..
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/

Last edited by Jake_HT; February 1, 2009 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Just for sh#%s and giggles, did you try installing Windows 7 beta? That should have more recent OS support for raid.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:46 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

I haven't, no.. maybe I'll do that next weekend. I burned my WHOLE weekend re-installing trying to get this crap to work.

I'll try to obtain an XP x64 SP2 disk somehow, and give that a shot... if that doesn't work then I'm going to build a lightsaber and teach my computer who's boss.

Of course asus phone support is a joke.. it's either closed or busy.. I'd like to hear from them on why these RAID drivers don't work

At least my RAM will be in tomorrow, that'll give me some happiness... 2GB is a joke now-a-days..

EDIT: well.. now that I thought about it more, I did try the XP 32 bit disk that is SP2.. with no luck... uhh..
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/

Last edited by Jake_HT; February 1, 2009 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 12:48 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I realize that it may feel patronizing, but since I can't tell from your post how far you've gotten in your install, I must ask, are you pressing F6 and selecting the correct driver?

The Windows XP installer doesn't automatically read/detect from the floppy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 07:12 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
I realize that it may feel patronizing, but since I can't tell from your post how far you've gotten in your install, I must ask, are you pressing F6 and selecting the correct driver?

The Windows XP installer doesn't automatically read/detect from the floppy
Yeah, I was doing that, and also not doing that, both did bring up the same screen to select drivers from the floppy.


I just got blue screened out of windows AGAIN and can't get back in... I have NO idea what it is... the blue screen is so fast.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 08:03 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Oh- it's XP- I guess you can ignore the PM then :-)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 08:44 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

lol yeah sorry for not replying again... been busy with this stuff..

I just got a XP pro SP3 disc (good ol university) so I will try that, I don't have a floppy anymore though (borrowed one) so if windows doesn't recognize the drivers forget the RAID...

I just want my PC to work, it's a shame x64 is giving me all these troubles (see other thread) but I might have to go 32 bit again and say goodbye to half of my RAM..
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 11:54 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,

Just joined this forum. I successfully installed a mirrored RAID on this board. However, pressing < F-6 > to install the drivers never worked. Windows XP asks for the third party drivers, they would load from a floppy, Windows would begin installation, then blue-screen when it tried to reboot to continue the installation.

What did work was a great little program called nLite, which allows you to build a custom Windows installation CD. Since I'm new, I can't post any links, but do a search for nLite. It's under 3-doubleu's nliteos dot com.

You build the custom installation Windows CD using your regular Windows CD. It incorporates any third party drivers that you need and builds an ISO image for you to burn. Install Windows from the new CD and you're good to go.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 11:58 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koret View Post
Hi,

Just joined this forum. I successfully installed a mirrored RAID on this board. However, pressing < F-6 > to install the drivers never worked. Windows XP asks for the third party drivers, they would load from a floppy, Windows would begin installation, then blue-screen when it tried to reboot to continue the installation.

What did work was a great little program called nLite, which allows you to build a custom Windows installation CD. Since I'm new, I can't post any links, but do a search for nLite. It's under 3-doubleu's nliteos dot com.

You build the custom installation Windows CD using your regular Windows CD. It incorporates any third party drivers that you need and builds an ISO image for you to burn. Install Windows from the new CD and you're good to go.

Good luck.
Awesome man, I'll look into that!

This is sweet because I still have my 2x320GB drives empty, so I can install windows on those, and do a dual boot and copy all my crap over from my current drive, and I won't lose anything.. Score!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/

Last edited by Jake_HT; February 12, 2009 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA X58 Vs Asus P6T X58 Deluxe appplejack CPU's and Motherboards 52 December 9, 2008 10:26 PM
FS/FT: Asus P5Q Deluxe Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 3, 2008 11:42 AM
ASUS P5N-T Deluxe has wireless? dracozhu CPU's and Motherboards 1 March 24, 2008 07:31 PM
ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 9, 2008 02:48 PM
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe RAM underclocking mfrs2000 CPU's and Motherboards 16 October 20, 2007 12:04 AM