Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 04:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
Default Question about Realtek sound

Hello. I put my new system together a couple of weeks ago. I'm using a gigabyte mobo EP45-UD3R with the Realtek HD audio (latest drivers) with a 5.1 surround speaker setup. I have great sound as long as I play a downloaded song or video from a player. Then I have full 5.1. Now, if I go to youtube, imeem, etc, I only get sound on the front 2 speakers in mono. What am I doing wrong? Never had this problem with my old MSI mobo with Soundblaster Live! Always had 5.1 on any site. I've gone through the Realtek audio manager back and forth and can't get it. Thanks for any help.

P.S. I also always use Firefox, maybe FF needs different settings?

Last edited by lyned; January 24, 2009 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 08:00 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

I'll admit that I'm not particularly knowledgeable about the finer details on sound chips, but it would hardly surprise me if Youtube only provided stereo sound. Is it possible that the SB Live! was simulating 5.1, even though it was only receiving 2-channel sound?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 08:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
I'll admit that I'm not particularly knowledgeable about the finer details on sound chips, but it would hardly surprise me if Youtube only provided stereo sound. Is it possible that the SB Live! was simulating 5.1, even though it was only receiving 2-channel sound?
Exactly.

And thats exactly how it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 09:37 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

I get full 5.1 on youtube....
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 09:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
I get full 5.1 on youtube....
Because you have a setting enabled somewhere to allow "full sound" or "simulated surround"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 01:51 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Just out of curiosity you said you are using the latest drivers are they from the Gigabyte site or from the realtek website?

EE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 04:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
Default

I've tried the drivers from Gigabyte and Realtek with no difference Eagle Eye. Currently using the Realtek drivers released this month.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound distribution Finch Audio 0 August 13, 2008 02:04 PM
Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device nikitos Video Cards 14 July 24, 2008 05:18 AM
want a new sound card. belgolas Audio 5 March 20, 2008 06:56 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM
Rear Channel on Realtek HD? sswilson Audio 8 July 25, 2007 01:07 PM