Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 02:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default Motherboard 24pin power failure

Hello

Im using the ga-ma74gm-s2 motherboard from gigabyte.

I reveived it, brand new, three days ago. I installed it, set the cpu/memory/hdd/dvd, well everything inside a brand new case. It booted right, I installed windows xp sp3 w/o any inconveniences. Then, I just let it run for some time and it has shut down by itself.

When I was pressing the power button, nothing was working, it wasnt even lighting up.

So if figured I might of blown the crappy stock psu I had, making the whole system shut down. I changed the psu for a brand new one and the cpu was still not booting.

Then I tought it could have been the processor, who knows... maybe! If it was anything else, the cpu would still start.

So, i changed the cpu for a brand new one (lucky me i had every parts twice) and it still didnt boot.

Then, while trying to uninstall the motherboard from the computer and try it in another case, i saw the fan staring to spin. When I plug the 24pins main power, the computer dosnt start but when its not completely plugged it, well placed somehow a little oblical, it does start.

Im kinda lost... the problem would be the 24pin?

How can I fix it? I should i RMA it ?

thanks, and very sorry for my bad english im back from work and i need to go to my other job in 20seconds.
thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2009, 02:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Did you plug on the secondary 4-pin connector? And double-check every wire going into the 24-pin connector, making sure they are not loose.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

Double checked, its still the same thing.

The connection only boots and everything works when the plug is "oblical" and not when fully plugged in...


Last edited by CactusJoe; January 25, 2009 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 08:54 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

You mean at an angle, not fully seated?

Disassemble the computer, and re-assemble on a cardboard sheet. Looks like the board is grounded somewhere. Double-check the case once the board is out for any metal parts that could come in contact with the board.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 08:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

I've taken the board out of the case for testing purposes... So theres no metal connection anywhere

and I mean at an angle and not fully seated, so both
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 09:02 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Bad connection then on the board's 24-pin connector. Time for RMA - unless someone else has an idea.

Word of advise, RMA the board quickly through the store where you bought it, since the Gigabyte RMA process is very long... been there, done that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 09:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

Alright!
Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2009, 03:51 PM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

If you have not RMA'd it and you have a 20+4 pin power, try it with just 20pin, they will usually boot with jkust 20pins. My bet is your VRM set is bad, if it boots, then you have an issue with the VRM ont he extra 4pins. Still an RMA but would offer some peace of mind you did not do anything wrong, and it is a MOBO issue.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for extension cables - 24pin and 8pin MorePower New Builds 4 January 18, 2009 10:51 PM
Raid Access failure Eagle Eye Storage 9 November 14, 2008 04:05 PM
Impending failure? low351 Power Supplies 5 March 17, 2008 06:17 AM
Disk Boot Failure Unklmo Troubleshooting 9 September 19, 2007 03:48 PM
Motherboard or Power Supply enaberif Troubleshooting 1 September 12, 2007 05:37 AM