Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:12 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default Old rig died on me?

Hi folks!
I have a decent gaming rig and I left my old one for the wife and daughter to use.
They use it for browsing the web and a little bit of gaming (mostly Quake wars ET)
There it is:
Athlon 64 3400+
ASUS K8V SE DLX
1 Gig Samsung DDR400
GeForce 7800GS AGP
120 Gig Seagate SATA HDD
Thermaltake TR2 470Watts PSU (not great I guess, but it replaced a failing Antec TP2 430W)

Of course it's a 5 years old rig, so I'm not expecting high perf. out of it!
So yesterday it was fine and I shut it down properly.
Today, the "voice post reporter" says: System FAILED CPU TEST repeatedly, to no end. No video signal, no way to access BIOS to look at voltages, or anything else.

The manual says: reseat CPU...they if it still occurs, call ASUS customer support...I can see it for a new build, but for an 5 years old comp, I doubt they would do something for me..

This is what I tried...case opened, CPU fan spins, dusting out the whole thing, checked on all connections, checked if the HSF was thight enough, resetting the CMOS by taking out battery for 15 minutes, jumper moved to CLEAR CMOS position (cord detached of course)...

I'm out of luck...
I never OCed that rig at all, so I doubt the CPU would be dead.
Thing is that none of my buds own decent computers or have spare parts for me to test my old machine by swapping parts.
I like in Quebec and there is no DECENT computer shops around, only the local "Let me sell you outdated stuff for twice what it's worth" kinda deal, or that futuristic place and staples...(I'd like to stay away from those 2 places, as I don't thrust their tech support)...

Any help would be appreciated!!!

BTW, I searched the ASUS forum, and everybody that tried to RESEAT CPU and re-applying Thermal compound, had NO LUCK solving that issue...

:help:
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:19 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

The cheapest option to UPGRADE...LOL would be to get a mobo(PCI-E/sempron bundle) for around 80$...I would then have to get some RAM that is compatible with it and a decent PCI-E GFX card (that would probably be bottlenecked by the CPU...)

I usually buy from NCIX, but they don't list the Ol ASROCK mobo with PCI-E AND AGP...they don't list any S754 stand alone boards (only that Sempy bundle).
Think the Sempron would be less powerfull than my 3400+ 1Mb "Clawhammer".
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

The sempron bundle would probably be your best bet considering you've got DDR memory + agp going on, and I doubt you'll find a new S754 proc at a decent price. Even one of the Asrock frankenstien boards + a low end S775 proc would probably cost you at least $140.

Did you check out newegg and TD? They used to have a fair amount of low cost motherboard/cpu bundles.

Unfortunately, without a S754 to verify if the issue is CPU or motherboard it'd be a crapshoot to see which component was toast. At the very least, if you buy a sempy combo, and the 3000 works on your current board you can sell the new one for a few buck or vica-verca.

IIRC a 2800 (or 3100? ) sempron would probably be better as they had better cache.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 08:06 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Do you have or know someone who has a similar computer as you? If you do, take everything out one at a time, testing each item to make sure that they all work. The ones that don't are probably the dead pieces that caused your rig to "die"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 08:07 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Thanks for answering my post SSWILSON!

Now, I investigated a little more...plz bare with me!
When I turn on the comp, the 2 optical drive's lights aren't blinking like they used to do at start-up. No lights on PS2 Keyboard and PS2 optical mouse...
When I plug in the PSU's power cord in the PSU, I hear a faint noise, like if you would put your ear against an opened POP CAN, like hearing the gas bubbling in the can.
There is NO burning smell or burnt caps (as far as I can see without taking it apart).

That Thermaltake TR2-470NP (W0090RU) is sure NOT a quality PSU, I got it from a local store at the time, cause I needed a replacement quickly...
Could it be the PSU failing?
The fan on my 7800GS spins, so 12V is there and ready to go I assume...the ratings are 15A on 12V1 and 14A on 12V2...

The power requirements for the 7800GS are the following:
A minimum 400W system power supply (with 12V current rating of 20A or more)
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; January 19, 2009 at 08:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 05:48 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Could it be the PSU failing?
The fan on my 7800GS spins, so 12V is there and ready to go I assume...the ratings are 15A on 12V1 and 14A on 12V2...
In my experience, components (CPU, mobos) don't just die without a reason, especially at stock speeds/voltages... however, PSUs do tend to die, so you're assumption makes a lot of sense.

Change your PSU first, before spending on obsolete replacements for your rig.

My .02
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crucial Ballistix DDR2-1066 Died? (More Epic Length) tehgooch Troubleshooting 11 July 21, 2008 08:44 PM
This thing PSU died, and I have pictures! mmmstew Power Supplies 13 May 22, 2008 01:12 PM