Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:43 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default need help with i7/x58 start up

Ok, this is weird! (to me at least). Got everything running nicely, OS, drivers, Everest etc. loaded no problem, time to start OC'ing....or so I thought! First attempt was mild and as it was "verifying DMI pool data" (update success) it came up BOOTMGR is missing!!....what the hell just happened?? ....and how do I get bootmgr back?...I think I've done it before but I'll be damned if I remember how.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, thanks
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

i googled BOOTMGR is missing, and found this How to fix "BOOTMGR is missing" in Windows Vista
hope it helps
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:51 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

ahhhhh...thanks jay, that looks familiar, I'll give it a shot
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 12:14 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

That worked, I shoulda remembered that was what to do but I haven't had that problem in years and couldn't remember...lol...thanks again Jay
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 12:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

glad that worked for you.
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 11:00 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

google is a great friend :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2009, 11:03 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, it was weird. I was OCing too, and that happened. It happened before though, so I knew what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 09:08 AM
Evylldemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 158

My System Specs

Default

Same thing happened to me with my i7/x58 build. Took me a while to find that fix. I had to use the command prompt approach.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to start RainMaker New Builds 5 January 16, 2009 12:02 PM
cant get computer to start Defiant Troubleshooting 5 December 18, 2008 09:58 AM
New Build, won't start shryke Troubleshooting 17 October 23, 2008 03:42 PM
Pc Start up Problem JuggsJr Troubleshooting 5 November 26, 2007 07:04 PM
Windows was unable to start erikpilon O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 October 10, 2007 04:00 PM