Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 01:12 AM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default Odd "jiggling" of displayed image

This is something that I need help with. Actually it's funny, because the issue is happening on both my and my wife's desktop computers. It has been a constant issue with my wife's, but it seems like it only started with my computer after I installed the latest nVidia driver for my video card (though reverting back didn't help )

Anyway, the issue is that the image displayed on the screen will sort of "jiggle" back and forth. It makes it even harder to concentrate on the screen, since you have to focus on this "wiggling" "jiggling" image. It happens the most on white or light backgrounds, on black it's more or less un-noticable.

Now what makes me suspsicious, is that on my computer the wiggling really only starts once I get to the Windows XP loading screen. When it shows the computer info at the beginning of startup, as far as I can see, there isn't any wiggling. On my wife's computer however, the wiggling starts right from when the monitor is turned on.

Here's the other thing, at least with my wife's computer. We bought it from a local shop called OTV Technologies. We brought the video card back for them to check it out, since it is warrantied through them, and because when I hooked the monitor up to my laptop with VGA out, it didn't do any wiggling. One of their techs said that after his "battery" of tests, he couldn't get it to replicate the issue. Now, whether or not he was looking for what the issue was (like looking for artifacts instead of the screen "wiggle") is another question. However, when we got the video card home, the issue persisted.

Has anyone had this issue happen to them before? It's incredibly annoying that it has started happening to my computer, at least if it was only on my wife's I could ignore it. But now it is happening on my computer and I must do something about it!

Any help that could be given will be much appreciated! And sorry for the long wall of text.
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 06:27 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

well, sounds like line noise since you have the problem but not the tech.
Try plugging into a line conditioner or through a UPS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 07:36 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

I had the same problem when I placed my desk/computer next to the wall that holds the main AC power stack outside. The 'giggling' would start when anything drawing a large load of current kicked in (ie clothes dryer). I suspect an electromagnetic field is causing the problem .... from what ???
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 07:57 AM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

I would take advantage of the situation to look at pics of boobs
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 08:33 AM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
well, sounds like line noise since you have the problem but not the tech.
Try plugging into a line conditioner or through a UPS.
Alright. Now where does one find one of these devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001
I would take advantage of the situation to look at pics of boobs
Ha! That's just what I needed on a tired morning like this one. Thank you!
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 09:02 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Btw, I meant noise on your monitor (power) not the video card.
Wouldn’t surprise me that to keep monitor costs down they don’t use the best PS in them.

Anyways your everyday power/surge bar usually have a filter of some kind in them, but quality varies greatly.
Assuming it is noise, in order of expense, I’d start by trying a different outlet, a better power bar, and lastly a UPS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 09:22 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

It does sound like EMI (electromagnetic interference). Are both computers close together?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 09:24 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

I don't know if I missed it but is this a CRT or LCD monitor?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 10:35 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

there also a chance it could be out of phase. Try running the auto tool on your monitor. If it's crt trying degaussing it.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 12:01 PM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
there also a chance it could be out of phase. Try running the auto tool on your monitor. If it's crt trying degaussing it.
Good Lord.

I hit the Auto button, it does it's thing, and BOOM. Issue resolved! Ba ha, I'm so happy right now... this is much cheaper than any of the other options. I just wish I had thought of it before, then I wouldn't have needed to bother anyone!

Yes, both monitors are LCDs, mine is an AOC 2216Sw, my wife's is an LG something or other and 22" as well.

This is awesome. lcdguy definitely proved that he is a guy who knos about LCDs!!

I will try auto tooling the wife's monitor and see if there is any improvement.
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fake "Do Not Call" cell phone registry hits the streets sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 26, 2008 08:21 PM
"all in one" image software CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 September 9, 2008 07:33 AM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" (Epic Length) tehgooch Troubleshooting 10 May 9, 2008 05:34 AM