Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 11:42 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

The Ocz xtc plats are on sale at DC...4-4-4-14...I just got the golds 5-5-5-12 same price doh.lol $79 2gg kit
Ocz Platinum Xtc REV.2 PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-15 240PIN Dimm Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 08:33 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
The Ocz xtc plats are on sale at DC...4-4-4-14...I just got the golds 5-5-5-12 same price doh.lol $79 2gg kit
Ocz Platinum Xtc REV.2 PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-15 240PIN Dimm Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada
Sh!t thats a hell of a good price! But these arent D9s... But i might, if im real broke, get my hands on these. Thanks!

Any boards recommendations guys ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 09:35 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Any boards recommendations guys ?
You wish to change the mobo too? I've bought 3 eVga 680i (2x AR and 1x A1) in the past 4 months (last one coming this week) and no problems what-so-ever - including the RAM.

All 3 are running with OCZ Gold DDR2-800 5-5-5-12 - http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...y&promoid=1034

That's my choice.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 06:41 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
You wish to change the mobo too? I've bought 3 eVga 680i (2x AR and 1x A1) in the past 4 months (last one coming this week) and no problems what-so-ever - including the RAM.

All 3 are running with OCZ Gold DDR2-800 5-5-5-12 - http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...y&promoid=1034

That's my choice.
Whats the difference between AR and A1 ?

What are your Ocing result on that ram ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 10:34 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Exclamation

Mobo differences:NCIX FORUMS - 680i Moder Differences

CPUs were E6400s.

The first one ran stable @ 3.45, with Orthos for 12 hours. Temp: 43C.
The second one ran stable @ 3.40, with Orthos for 12 hours. Temp: 41C.

I don't remember the voltages, and I never do. All chips are different are require specific voltages.

Now, looking at the NCIx forum, a staff member specified to wait Tuesday or Wednesday for something special regarding the mobo...

NCIX FORUMS - Should i buy the more expensive version? - EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX D...

John
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 11:32 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

well now im real mad and fking clueless. Bought some ram and still it dosen't boot! What now ? The mobo the CPU ? I just hooked out my CPU to looks for bent pins and stuff. Everything seemed fine. Except that the CPU had a small spot on the pin side. Thsi spot was caused by some thermal compound. In real small quantity. Like real small... When i noticed that, a few weeks earlier, i cleaned it off and hooked it back. And it worked just fine. Now i just realized that it could be the problem... So, i re-cleaned it off but this time with some Alcohol. Now i have a spot that shine... Did i do wrong ? Was cleaning the under of a CPU with alcohol, actually it's with the number 1 of the artic clean set, was wrong ?

Im just tired now... WHat you guys think ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 06:24 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

I'm stumped. Only possibility left is the mobo. Either it's dead, or you may have a short somewhere between the case and the mobo - anything metal, like the studs for example.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 06:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Yep, you're down to the point of needing a test bed to check out the individual pieces. If your cpu,mem, & vid card work on another system, then it's either your mobo or your PSU.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 07:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Too bad that my test rig will only be up-and-running sometime next week...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 10:48 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Well, could it be the MM mobo tray shorting something out somewhere ? I doubt it is. I removed it and replaced it once. Should i try to run the set-up on a static-free bag placed a my mobo box ?

Well, i know that it ain't the cards as i don't even see the lights of the mouse and keyboard lightning up and don't ear the HDD working. I now know it's not the ram... Whats left is the CPU and mobo question. And im real tired. I have money to get a new mobo or E6600. Not both. That means that i have to find where is the prob.

But you guys didn't answered my question Was cleaning my CPU pins with some kind of alcohol wrong ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes