Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 10:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default gtx 280 LEDs are red and there's no display on monitor! :(

hello guys,

I have a gtx 280 and when I boot up my computer the LEDs are red (if everything's fine the LED glows green), and there's no display on the screen. I'm aware that it means no power supply is connected, even though it is.

I've had no problem with the card for a couple weeks up until now. What happened before the card started failing is that my buddies came over and brough their rigs. I have 2 rigs, so I had to disconnect everything from the computer with the GTX 280 in it and move it aside.

Several days later I moved it back plugged it back in and I started experiencing what's going on above. I never OC'd the card. I checked to make sure it was in the PCIe slot okay. when i plug in a cheap pcie card (doesnt need power cables) everything is fine. didnt test a new PSU yet.

anyone have any idea what I should do? :help:

Last edited by RA3KW0N; January 25, 2009 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 10:36 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Pull it out and re-seat it in the pci-x slot, firmly. The same thing happened to my 260. It barely clears my southbridge chip and sata cables and is kinda precariously seated as is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 10:44 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Its probably the card then, my suggestions is apply for a rma and contact BFG tech and see if they can't help you troubleshoot further. I am not suprised that you're having problems even my GTX280 is troublesome at times, everything from random crashes to lock ups and the occasional BSOD, although it hasn't failed me yet I have half expect it to at some point and time.

Have you tried your 4870x2 on the board with the same PSU?

EE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 10:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Pull it out and re-seat it in the pci-x slot, firmly. The same thing happened to my 260. It barely clears my southbridge chip and sata cables and is kinda precariously seated as is.

hmm. tried doing that, even with my hand pressing it in firmly while turning it on (grounded myself first + not touching any important parts of the card). any other suggestions? this sucks! :(
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 10:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
Its probably the card then, my suggestions is apply for a rma and contact BFG tech and see if they can't help you troubleshoot further. I am not suprised that you're having problems even my GTX280 is troublesome at times, everything from random crashes to lock ups and the occasional BSOD, although it hasn't failed me yet I have half expect it to at some point and time.

Have you tried your 4870x2 on the board with the same PSU?

EE
BFG was saying i might be my PSU because those red led lights are "only indicative of no power going to the card" which is BS because of course it can mean that the card is faulty. but i didnt even want to set up an RMA at that point, just wanted some input + advice. Haven't tried 4870x2 on the board because it's a total b***h to dismantle a watercooling loop and set it back up -_-
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 12:06 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I see, didn't know you were WC on the first rig entirely out of the question.

You could try putting it into the second PCI-E slot with another card as the maindisplay, when in the OS enable the second for card as the primary or hook up a secondary display and see if it works. If that doesn't work you'll probably have to look into getting a temporary PSU replacement for the time being or lastly just RMA the card.

I do find it interesting that your PSU has 6 12v rails its very possible that the GTX280 is overloading 1 and causing it too fail. Personally a single rail is the best to a maximum of 4, 6 is just excessive and likely to create more problems than solve them.

Any indication from the PSU LED that there might be a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 12:28 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Just throwing some other possible causes into the mix

Perhaps the water-block is shorting/warping the card? You could try putting the stock cooler back on to see (leave the watercooling block attached to the loop and try booting). Some of the water-blocks (EK) can cause problems (even if it worked previously) by shorting or warping the card. Re-seating the card with fiber washers might fix it.

Other than that GTX280's have been known to die for no apparent reason.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 12:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

I killed a BFG 280 with an EK FC block...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 12:37 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 428
Default

I would RMA the card.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 12:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

charlie you sold me that EK FC block!!! T_T
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tired of the haf's leds of doom? EaGle1337 Cases 9 January 13, 2009 11:56 AM
Antec 300 LEDs BALISTX Cases 1 December 14, 2008 02:05 PM
No display on monitor upon startup. HELP! bojangles Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2008 09:53 PM
Dual-Display Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2263DX Review Hardware Canucks Display Units 5 August 25, 2008 11:21 PM
WHAT THE $*@#$ is up with all the blue leds stormkiller22 Off Topic 23 March 10, 2008 03:00 PM