Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 10:22 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default Onboard E-sata not working

Hi,
Just put a drive into my enclosure and the E-sata port on the mobo isn't reading. Last time I used the enclosure the port worked fine. Only change has been the motherboard which is why I assume it is the port on the board. Went through the bios to find out if there was an option to enable it but I couldn't find it. Also the USB on the enclosure works fine. I don't have the most up to date drivers for the E-sata, those are downloading now...but I can't get a good connection, 3.6kb/s for a 519MB file. So I was hopeing I could get some help before 2 days lol.

Mobo: Asus M3N HT-Deluxe/mempipe
Enclosure: Vantec Nexstar 3 (older, don't have firewire out like the new 3's)

Thanks,
Scott
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 01:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

I have an ASUS M2N-SLI DELUXE, and I'm sure i've seen an option in the BIOS - in fact mine has an eSATA connector too ont he back panel, and that is enabled by default I believe - do you only have 1 eSATA port on yours ???
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:19 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Yep, only 1 on board connector. I have an I/O plate that is sata to Esata and when I use that it works fine, so the issue is defiantly with the motherboards port.
I went onto Asus's tech forums and someone else mentioned that he was told to RMA the board. So I may end up having to go the route, which I'm not too keen on but ohwell.
Also Asus made a Sata driver change from M2N to the M3N's they use Marvell now instead of Jmicron. Might have something to do with why yours works and mine doesnt lol. But from reading through Asus's forums I don't see a single fix, just RMA.
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 04:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

I have a different ASUS board, but in mine, the external eSATA is enabled using the Jmicron controller which has to be enabled from the bios.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 07:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Actually the M2N has 6 SATA ports, and if i'm not mistaken not all are JMicron, I'll have to check, I recall only 2 extra ones are, but anyways, before you RMA your board check to see that you have the correct drivers - Did you download and install the drivers from ASUS's site ? Marvel, hmm, should have an option to enable it too. it's funny how come your board whcih is more expensive and more recent has only 1 eSATA port :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2009, 10:15 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

I cant get a good connection to asus. it is a 1.5-2 day D/L and i don't like leaving my comp on that long. But I went through the bios again but I still can't seem to find any e sata options in there. But I will be getting the drivers and exhausting all options before I RMA as this is my only computer.
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audigy 2 value or DS3L onboard audio? donimo Audio 17 January 16, 2009 05:19 PM
What motherboard has really good onboard sound? HermesĄ˘ CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 22, 2008 05:39 PM
Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device nikitos Video Cards 14 July 24, 2008 06:18 AM
Onboard Audio versus Soundcard mazabe Audio 10 May 9, 2008 06:21 AM
Recommendations for onboard vid / 3 monitor Motherboard sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 7 April 7, 2008 03:45 PM