Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:10 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default See if you can figure this gem out

My gf had some HP computer with onboard video and 512mb ram. I upgraded her to a gig and an AGP video card (ATI 9200 or something)

Anyway, every time I launch a game or some intensive, the system reboots.

With EVEREST, I saw her 12V voltage was at 11.3V. She had a 250W PS so I got her a 450W PS. Same thing. Still only 11.3V ..

WTF?

I'm pretty sure the restarts are voltage related but.. seriously.. at 250W and 450W the 12V stays at 11.3?

WTF?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

Pull the memory probably not compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:25 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

What makes you say that? The system runs fine in windows with non intensive tasks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

Exactly.

When you start using more intensive apps it requires more memory.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:44 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Its possible your heatsink is loose too, meaning that that temps are high as hell at "idle" windows but when someone thats processor intensive comes on, the temperature skyrockets and the system restarts due to a thermal warning. Just my 0.02$.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:47 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

If its memory you think Memtest will cause a reboot similar to his gaming?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:48 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

Yeah memtest should show some errors. I can try that I suppose.

But still.. can anyone explain why with a 250W PW and a 450W the 12V line would be 11.3V in both cases? Something seems... mathematically improbable there.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 07:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
Yeah memtest should show some errors. I can try that I suppose.

But still.. can anyone explain why with a 250W PW and a 450W the 12V line would be 11.3V in both cases? Something seems... mathematically improbable there.
Thats normal.

PSUs are never exact.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 08:01 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Everest would also be reading those values from the Mobo which wasn't changed...the only way to really tell if your volts changed due to PS would be a multimeter before and after changing, and you would need to monitor during load and idle
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 08:38 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

My votes on memory incompatibility, personally.

At any rate, those are probably single-rail PSU's, so you should be able to just stick MM probes into a molex/PCI-E plug to see what the 12V line is really doing, without going to the hassle of poking the motherboard itself, or wondering if the software knows what it's reading.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help me figure the minimal wattage of my mini-itx machine baov Power Supplies 5 September 30, 2009 01:13 PM