Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 11:36 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default PC not powering up

I have a friend that has an issue where his system doesn't power on any more.

I have not seen the system but I had him do a cmos clear and try again.

However, the system continues to turn on only for a faction of a second, lights and fans, then turns off.

Besides trying another psu, what else could it be ...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 11:55 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Well, I had this problem with my first build, and it was the PSU, so I strongly suggest that you swap it out and test with a working one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 12:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a PSU issue to me - although I've seen cases where after trying everything, was the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 07:11 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,061

My System Specs

Default

I would, if you could, post all the system specs when you find out because it does help in the troubleshooting aspect of computers.

That being said, go with a minimum system setup i.e. CPU cooling Fan only, 1 stick of Ram Etc etc.
And see if it fires up,

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2009, 05:02 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Swapped power supply and fixed the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2009, 02:20 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Little hint: Make sure you have a sufficient number of stand offs to keep the motherboard away from the back of the case... without them, it can kill a PSU and the result is the same type of behavior you just described.
Glad you got it figured out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC not powering up neyjunior Troubleshooting 6 June 7, 2007 01:17 PM