Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 07:30 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default pc turning on

A few times recently, my pc won't boot. I turn it on, and the gpu fan spins at full power, like it normally does, except instead of stopping after approx a few seconds, it keeps going, and nothing shows up on my screen. So, i hold the power button, and turn it off.. and then i unplug it, and fiddle with it, and after a while i get it going. I still do not know exactly what gets it going again.. my pc has also crashed a few times. I've got my cpu back to stock speed, and my gpu is not overclocked.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 10:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Can you provide more details - When you say you fiddle with it, what exactly do you do ? When you say crashed a few times, what do you mean (what types of errors do you get, or is it just locking up, BSOD, turning off, etc.)
How much sticks of RAM are you running ? Have you tested your RAM recently ?

It could be 1 or more of 3 things - Power Supply, RAM or failing motherboard. Most commonly, RAM or PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 10:58 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

It is possible your overclock is no longer stable.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 11:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I've got my cpu back to stock speed, and my gpu is not overclocked.
He doesn't seem to be OCing his CPU or GPU now, but what about RAM ?

Are you OCing your RAM or running agressive timings ?

Next time you post, go immediately into your BIOS and run everything at stock speeds, including RAM at conservative speeds and voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 11:06 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

it mostly crashes while playing cod, so im not that worried about it... It just locks up, thats either the game, or maybe my drivers.

I've only got 2 sticks in right now, i took two out to see if that was the problem, its not. its dominator ram, i don't remember what its at, but its around 800 right now.
My powersupply is relatively new, got it in august.
When i fiddle with it, i either unplug the psu cables to the card, or unplug my psu itself.

and sky, its not oc'ed
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2009, 11:12 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

I have seen a previously overclocked CPU become unstable even at stock speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 07:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Is it clean inside and dust free?
fans turning properly okay but both processor and vid card?
No dust in behind the cpu fan on the flat profile fins
Could be just about anything really and not limited to.... drivers, motherboard issue, bad ps, vid card, coruption-+

You mention fiddling with what? cables connections, parts?

Also whats your temperatues inside the case and your processor and video card temps.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; January 4, 2009 at 07:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 09:29 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
it mostly crashes while playing cod, so im not that worried about it... It just locks up, thats either the game, or maybe my drivers.

I've only got 2 sticks in right now, i took two out to see if that was the problem, its not. its dominator ram, i don't remember what its at, but its around 800 right now.
My powersupply is relatively new, got it in august.
When i fiddle with it, i either unplug the psu cables to the card, or unplug my psu itself.

and sky, its not oc'ed
Have you done a stability test with P95 and SmallFFT?
Have you ran memtest to see if your memory is stable?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 10:05 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I have a clients pc here right now with those exact same symptoms. Did this to the guy for months. Only now it wont boot at all. It is the mobo dead.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 01:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I have seen a previously overclocked CPU become unstable even at stock speeds.
That's scary !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pump not turning on? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 8 April 4, 2008 02:17 AM
Amd might be turning things around. cdn_Madrach CPU's and Motherboards 8 August 29, 2007 05:11 PM