Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:04 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default Weirdness in Clean Install on Dell Laptop

OK - I'm not sure if this is a Vista issue or a hardware issue, but here goes:
1) My son picks up a virus on his Dell 1720 laptop - core 2, 2 gigabytes of ram, 8600 gt, Vista Premium 32bit.
2) He has lost his "recovery disks"
3) I contact Dell for new disks, they will be here in a couple of weeks (we live a looong way North in Canada)
4) In the meantime, I do a clean install of Vista Premium 32 bit from an OEM disk I had purchased when I did a different project.
5) The install works, we download all the drivers from Dell.ca, all his apps work, even wireless.

6) The Weirdness: If we shut it down with "shutdown", all is good, but if we do a "restart" it does a BSOD, followed by a restart, followed by a BSOD, in a continuous loop, every time.

What's up with that? All answers appreciated, and thanks for your time.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:16 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

What does the BSOD say?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:23 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Probably one of the drivers not playing right with the hardware.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:58 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Hi and thanks for the responses. The BSOD speeds by in the blink of an eye and straight to the death spiral of reboot BSOD reboot. When I get home from work I will try to post the dmp file if I can find it.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 03:58 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Hmmm - can't seem to find the dmp files. Haven't looked for any in a long time. Anybody have another idea?
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 06:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure about what's causing the BSOD, but you may allow it to stay on-screen for longer by setting "Disable automatic restart on system failure" on boot.

Just in case, here's how:
1. As the computer is booting, press F8 (I just mash the button rapidly).
2. After the BIOS is done doing its thing and right before you normally see Vista's loading bar, you should get the "Advanced Boot Options" screen.
3. Select the option "Disable automatic restart on system failure" from the menu that comes up
4. Trigger your BSOD, and it should stay long enough for you to snap a picture or something.
- Also, try to trigger the BSOD in safe mode; if it doesn't occur in safe mode then you're probably facing a driver / pesky software issue.

Out of curiosity, does the laptop have one of those Dell recovery partitions?
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 08:58 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Yes it does have the Dell recovery partition. I will try your idea frontier204 - probably in the next day or so. BTW I could not run or install from the Dell Recovery partition. Perhaps there is a little trick to that that I should be trying to find out more about. I thought it was just because I don't have the recovery CDs.
zilla
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 12:24 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadzilla View Post
Yes it does have the Dell recovery partition. I will try your idea frontier204 - probably in the next day or so. BTW I could not run or install from the Dell Recovery partition. Perhaps there is a little trick to that that I should be trying to find out more about. I thought it was just because I don't have the recovery CDs.
zilla
What version of Vista was it? A couple jobs ago(collage co op placement), I worked for the IT dept of the local school school board(Halton Catholic District). We used pretty much all Dell exclusively, so I'ved PM'ed you a possible solution.

As for the built in recovery partition, they never seem to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM
FS: Dell Inspiron 1300 Laptop / 15.4" Wide CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 20 July 9, 2008 05:42 PM
FS: Dell 9400 Laptop. GTA area King Luis Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 2, 2008 10:45 AM
How Do You Clean Your LCD Monitor? mo' power Display Units 17 November 5, 2007 06:26 PM
Tips to clean radiator eagle_ Water Cooling 2 August 22, 2007 07:28 AM