Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 02:31 AM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default I post, but no video?

finished putting together my rig..
750i FTW
Q6700
HX620W
Gtx 260 core 216

i tried with a diferent video card that i know for sure works 100% but still no video.
i get POST beeps, and if i hit 'delete' i can hear the NB getting louder as if entering bios.
still no video tho.
do i have a busted PCI-E port?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 04:51 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

1. Is your DVI or VGA plugged into the correct display port?
2. You can try clearing the CMOS and see if that might work

If that doesn't work than its likely you have a bad card or as you said a PCIE slot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 05:48 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Question, on the physical monitor hooked up to this said video card.
What is the Power light doing? Solid Green? Flashing Green? Orange?

Thanks,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com

Last edited by Soultribunal; December 18, 2008 at 05:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:39 AM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

orange.

and i think i either have a bad mobo or cpu.. im gettin error beep codes
i'll swap out the cpu with the current one im using see if it makes a difference. if not then it's the mobo and ill have to rma it :(
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:56 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chouchou View Post
orange.

and i think i either have a bad mobo or cpu.. im gettin error beep codes
i'll swap out the cpu with the current one im using see if it makes a difference. if not then it's the mobo and ill have to rma it :(
Yeah, Zero Signal from the VC with Orange.

Now I'm not 100% but I do recall hearing you can stick a 16x card into a 1x PCI-E slot to test if its the slot or not thats giving you the issue.
Someone correct me if I'm Wrong, but I would give that a whirl and see what happens.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 11:51 AM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

so it's not my cpu?
i tried a different gpu and it didn't work either.
if i press F1 the 7F error code will go into FF which is normal procedure.
i get one long beep followed by two short beeps

ill stick the gtx 260 into my old rig to see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 11:56 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chouchou View Post
so it's not my cpu?
i tried a different gpu and it didn't work either.
if i press F1 the 7F error code will go into FF which is normal procedure.
i get one long beep followed by two short beeps

ill stick the gtx 260 into my old rig to see if that works.
The beep codes I am not familar with , and I'll be the first to state that.
I am saying move the GPU into a new slot to test if its the MB slot or not.
I'm not sure on the CPU either. In another thread here a lot of fellow HWC members state it is a really rare case to get a dead CPU from the start.
I have never had a DOA CPU yet, so I don't know the symptoms of that.
I am merely going with my thoughts to troubleshooting it from a VC problem standpoint.

Good Luck,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 01:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Whats the sequence of beeps?

That will tell you whats going on.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 02:43 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
i get one long beep followed by two short beeps
Seems to me this Beep Code indicates a "Memory" problem.....what is your digital diplay Code on the Mobo indicating? - Check this Code with the list of Post Codes in your Mobo Manual then Google it!! How much n how many sticks of Memory are you trying to Boot up with? Try leaving one stick in the Board and Booting with that, if successful in getting into BIOS check your voltage on the Memory.
Very unlikely that it is a GPU problem, but you can confirm if you someone with a PCI-E Board and try it.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; December 18, 2008 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 04:46 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

tried a different gpu and still no video. digital display code is 7f followd by a ff if 'f1' is pressed and a e1 if 'del' is pressed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help: NO POST miggs78 Troubleshooting 9 October 17, 2008 10:01 AM
Video Card memory 512 Available video memory 1268 mb? TwystedMonkey Troubleshooting 4 August 24, 2008 07:07 PM
No POST miggs78 Troubleshooting 8 August 21, 2008 07:40 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 09:17 PM
New Rig won't POST... qwerty Troubleshooting 17 November 24, 2007 02:20 PM