Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 02:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Unhappy trouble with new build ga x58 ud5 gtx260

when I boot up after being shut off for a period of time the video card will detect as standard video in device manager.At this point the gtx260 cannot be detected and no nvidia drivers will install as they do not match any hardware.If I reboot the card will be detected and the system works perfectly.I have tried reinstalling video drivers several times using various methods and putting the card in a different pcie slot.Nothing has helped.Also if I shut down and reboot 45 minutes later it will still boot properly.The problem only shows up when it has been shut off for a longer period of time.Anyone have an idea,thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 02:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Just a shot in the dark, but did you try downloading the latest motherboard drivers in case there's a problem with the PCIe interface drivers?

Other than that.... you're going to need to post the rest of your kit for folks to be able to help you out. (PSU, Memory, Case(for cooling), etc....)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 02:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

The power supply is a antec tripower trio 650 and the ram is G skill 3x 1gb 1333 ddr3.I will try Gigabytes site for motherboard drivers but I think they are still the same versions that shipped with my board.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 02:24 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

Running the EXTREME version of that board (same board for all intents & purposes) with a couple of GTX 260s and I haven't encountered anything like that. It might be RMA time. I suspect the video card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 04:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Could a dead motherboard battery cause that?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Wouldn`t a dead battery cause you to loose bios settings in the cmos?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 09:24 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,810

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Running the EXTREME version of that board (same board for all intents & purposes) with a couple of GTX 260s and I haven't encountered anything like that. It might be RMA time. I suspect the video card.
I doubt its the GPU, however, is thier anyone you know that has a PC with a PCI-E slot so that you can test that Card (prior to RMA'ing it). What method do you use for unistalling / installing Video Drivers? As in Clean sweep yada yada yada...
Prior to RMA'ing anything I would tend to try both a OS Repair and /or Clean install of OS.
Then go to next step....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 09:40 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Do a bios flash too.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 05:19 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

What Squeetard said.

Try downloading the latest bios and see if that helps. I'm currently using F4k and it's been good. F4l corrupted on my and F4n won't boot at my previously stable settings.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 07:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Yesterday i did a complete reinstall of windows,flashed the bios reinstalled video,motherboard and device drivers.I must og rebooted a hundred times and as usuall everything worked perfectly.I got up this morning booted up and standard video adapter reappeared.I shut down and rebooted and my gtx260 detected as usual.I`m thinking this must be hardware as this is my 3rd windows install in a week.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which psu is better for a GTX260 bushwickbill Power Supplies 10 August 11, 2008 10:23 AM
BD remote trouble on my PS3 ebdoradz Gaming 0 January 6, 2008 06:46 PM
PS3 wi-fi trouble ebdoradz Networking 8 December 8, 2007 05:12 PM
Trouble with fan controller. chibi_man Troubleshooting 2 September 24, 2007 06:49 PM
Trouble On The Horizon mo' power Off Topic 0 August 22, 2007 06:51 PM