Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 04:00 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default Need a little advice here?

Hi all I was wondering if you could give me some much needed advice.
These are the spec"s of my present system
INTEL Q6600 Quad Core
ASUS P5QL-Pro Mobo
4 Gig Ocz DDR2
BFG 9800 GTX
780 watt PS
I am on my second RMA BFG card And I am still seeing artifacts in my game"s.WOW,Warhammer,COD 4,Stalker Clear Skie"s.etc,etc You get the drift..
I now have an Leadtech 7800 Gtx From my dad"s computer with absolutely no problem"s at all.
I am thinking of going with a 4850 series video card (I am sick of all the nVIDIA problem"s)
Here"s some links of the card"s in my budget.
http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...id=999.243.272
http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...id=999.243.272
Any help would be great. Thx
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 05:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,635

My System Specs

Default

What's the airflow like in your case? Have you tried manually setting the fan speed on your card?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 08:04 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What's the airflow like in your case? Have you tried manually setting the fan speed on your card?
This is my case here
Canada Computers - Cases > Mid Towers : Cooler Master 690 RC-690-KKN1-GP Black ATX Mid Tower Case .
I never really felt like that was a huge problem cause of all the fan"s I have installed as well.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 08:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,635

My System Specs

Default

Try bumping up the fanspeed manually. There are quite a few vid cards out there that have auto fanspeed settings which don't ramp up enough to keep the voltage CCTs cooled at high GPU usage. (The GPU doesn't get hot enough to ramp up the speed, but the VRMs overheat causing problems).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 12:55 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Try bumping up the fanspeed manually. There are quite a few vid cards out there that have auto fanspeed settings which don't ramp up enough to keep the voltage CCTs cooled at high GPU usage. (The GPU doesn't get hot enough to ramp up the speed, but the VRMs overheat causing problems).
Thx sswilson can you recommend a program for this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 12:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,635

My System Specs

Default

Rivatuner is the most popular if your card doesn't ship with software from the manufacturer.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 01:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Or use evga's Precision. Also, what is your "780W" power supply exactly?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 01:17 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Both rivatuner and Precision are the same code IIRC, I use precision more lately since about all I am using is the fan speed control. But rivatuner offers alot more options.
Can he use precision with a BFG card?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 01:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

I found Precision easier to work with - and it does work with my 260s, from BFG and XFX.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 07:07 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Or use evga's Precision. Also, what is your "780W" power supply exactly?
My 780 is an Enermax it"s about a year old.It has the following component"s connected to it:
1X dvd drive
3X120 mm fan"s
1X WD 640 gig
1X WD 320 gig
The 9800
2 stick"s of ddr2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi I need your advice/help blogz101 New Builds 4 July 7, 2008 08:20 PM
HDD Advice Rommel Storage 3 April 23, 2008 01:34 PM
Need Advice !! Gogoune Power Supplies 2 April 16, 2008 03:53 PM
In need of advice doup93 Video Cards 6 March 17, 2008 05:40 PM
need advice Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 7 January 30, 2008 03:15 PM