Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:19 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,228
Default CPU Fan Error!

I just switched over to a P5Q pro last night and it always freezes on boot up with a CPU fan error. I water cool so there is no fan. How the hell do I get rid of that it's driving me nuts! I can't find anywhere in the BIOS to disable it. I did find a spot where I selected "Ignore" for the CPU fan but that didn't fix it.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:37 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Last time I had to temporarely connect a fan to the CPU fan header, then the "Disable" choice was available.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Default

As far as I remember,

I went into the BIOS and into the hardware monitor, changed the CPU fan to either disable or ignore (cant recall and at work ATM, so I'll post what it is after)

Dont recall if the P5Q Pro has the "ExpressGate" mini os option, but might as well disable that also unless you're planning on using it (In the OC pannel)
__________________
CM690 - Asus P5Q-E - Intel E8400(E0) @ 3.6 - OCZ GameXStream 700W - Swiftech Apogee GT (Bowed) - 2x2GB Mushkin Redline PC-8000 - EVGA GTX 260 - Samsung 226BW
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:56 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I plugged my pump in the header !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:57 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Last time I had to temporarily connect a fan to the CPU fan header, then the "Disable" choice was available.
I just plugged a random fan into it so it wouldn't beep at me , getting into the BIOS and disabling it would work too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mystery error . . . NyteOwl Troubleshooting 4 September 6, 2008 06:59 PM
Opera error Kilauea Suggestions & Feedback 6 September 5, 2008 05:59 PM
BSOD error miggs78 Troubleshooting 9 August 20, 2008 03:22 PM
fatal error help maurier CPU's and Motherboards 1 June 13, 2008 07:10 PM
dc purchase error jay51 Suggestions & Feedback 8 April 29, 2008 02:51 PM