Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 12:59 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default Vista 64 BSOD

What is the best way to narrow down the cause of some BSOD's I've been getting?
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:23 PM
morphine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 171
Default

Man, I hate BSODs.

I always keep an image (Acronis) of the OS after I install and test it, so that I have a clean slate that I can use to see if I can replicate the BSOD and it is not software related from something that I have installed afterwards.

If I can replicate the error from a previously working clean OS install, I then move on to the hardware - taking everything down to stock settings and see if the BSOD still happens. I find more often than not that checking each RAM stick individually points to a culprit (bad RAM in other words).

For testing I use the usual set of software to stress the CPU and RAM - Prime95, etc.

I also now tend to use my recently retired parts in my HTPC so that I have working RAM, PSU, etc that I can use to test my main machine if necessary.

Good luck, I know it can be a PITA.

Jason.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:27 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Look in the system event viewer, search out those errors.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:42 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

It's only been happening lately. I'm back to completely stock settings again; I don't even know why I'm worrying, I'd just like to find out if it's hardware before I strip this system to pieces in the next few weeks for my i7.

I've gone through the event viewer, I honestly can't really see anything.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 04:53 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Here is what happens:

Event ID 10 ? Event Filter Query Functionality

This is definitely the cause of my BSOD and occasional hardlock where i have to reboot manually.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:02 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Possibly my memory; had a big crash tonight and couldn't reboot till i reset my cmos and adjusted some voltages etc - I need to run memtest etc - can anyone point me to a god iso burner? Magic ISO is being retarded and I prefer not to pirate it.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:11 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Code:
Log Name:      Application
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-WMI
Date:          12/6/2008 9:34:21 PM
Event ID:      10
Task Category: None
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      encorp
Description:
Event filter with query "SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99" could not be reactivated in namespace "//./root/CIMV2" because of error 0x80041003. Events cannot be delivered through this filter until the problem is corrected.
Event Xml:

  
    
    10
    0
    2
    0
    0
    0x80000000000000
    
    4534
    
    
    Application
    encorp
    
  
  
    //./root/CIMV2
    SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99
    0x80041003
  
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:48 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,515

My System Specs

Default

90% of all BSOD's are memory related.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
90% of all BSOD's are memory related.

QFT

Run a memtest, my PC was rock solid up to 3 days uptime then I'd hit a BSOD, turned out to be bad RAM slots, switched them over from 0,2 to 1,3 and everything was fine

ISO burner = BurnCDCC TeraByte Unlimited :: Downloads :: Free Software :: Hard Drive Management

Works great, I'd use a bootable USB and run the Memtest86+ pre-compiled USB file they have there, thats if you have a bootable USB stick
__________________
CM690 - Asus P5Q-E - Intel E8400(E0) @ 3.6 - OCZ GameXStream 700W - Swiftech Apogee GT (Bowed) - 2x2GB Mushkin Redline PC-8000 - EVGA GTX 260 - Samsung 226BW
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 08:00 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Well that's the interesting thing.

I read on the EVGA website that slots 2,3 were best for this board. But the manual says to use 1 and 3 for two sticks.

Been getting this error ever since I moved from 2,3 to 1,3.

Problem is, usually 1,3 are best.

Guess I could just go back to 2,3 but that seems odd.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes