Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 08:48 AM
Madeinedmundston's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmundston,NB
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Unhappy Help NEED A BOOT CD IN THE DRIVE TO START WINDOWS!!!!

I need to have a bootable cd or dvd in my drive to be able to load xp or vista....otherwise it says ((error boot disk)......


Help please!!!!!!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 08:51 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Check your boot device priority in the Bios. Make sure your Hard drive is the first boot device.

Otherwise, boot to your CD and run a diskscan on the hard drive. May be kaput.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 08:58 AM
Madeinedmundston's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmundston,NB
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

1.WHEN I CHANGE 1.DVD 2.HDD TO 1.HDD TO 2.DVD IT ONLY SAYS BOOT DRIVE FAILURE.....BUT WHEN A BOOT CD IS IN THE DRIVE...NO PROBLEM TO BOOT :s
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 09:21 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

check your connections.

Boot to cd command console and run chkdsk c: /f

I'm afraid though its looking like your HDD is broken.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 09:25 AM
Madeinedmundston's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmundston,NB
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Lightbulb

thanks!!!! anyway.....maybe it's good time to buy the 640 gb from WD!!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 09:47 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Good man, you back everything up and a broken HD is a time of joy!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 10:10 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Did you try a repair on the OS? Could be OS issue and not HD. Worth a shot anyway.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:33 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madeinedmundston View Post
1.WHEN I CHANGE 1.DVD 2.HDD TO 1.HDD TO 2.DVD IT ONLY SAYS BOOT DRIVE FAILURE.....BUT WHEN A BOOT CD IS IN THE DRIVE...NO PROBLEM TO BOOT :s
Have you tried to boot first to the HDD that has your OS loaded? Put HDD to #1 instead of DVD.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:36 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

what is the exact error this would help
is it the mbr ( I think thats what its called)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:38 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

It's in the first sentence of his one sentence post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes