Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:23 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 194
Default Problems with ex58 extreme.

I have problems with my board already. Yikes

I rebooted my pc and on start up I get this. I don't even have a chance to press del to enter the bios. Instead I get this message.

Scanning bios image in harddrive.

I googled it a bit and none of the solutions work.

Like moving the memory around, taking some out. Heck I even tried different brands.

I have cleared the cmos and nothing.

I didn't even flash the bios before this.

This seems like a gigabyte problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 06:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Maybe this helps Re: ''Scanning Bios Image In harddrive''

Quote:
New Gigabyte boards have a way of saving the current BIOS to an area of the harddrive you cannot access wgich is why formatting will have no effect. You need to enter the BIOS Q Flash utility and set it up to boot from the main BIOS not the backed up image,
Maybe try that out.

TR Forums • View topic - Scanning Bios image in hard drive...

user who had a problem said
Quote:
i had some bad memory.
Good Luck, Gigabyte boards already with problems, but I might have to agree with what the user said in the first link, saying that somebody might have been fiddling with the board before you got it, maybe the store you purchased it from were running a QA / Testing on it, to make sure boards work and forgot to revert back to some settings.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 08:32 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

i've had my EP45T do this on occasion. i can't recall the exact fix but i think a CMOS clear with the CPU and battery out might have worked, or i put the driver CD in the optical drive and upon boot up it flashed the BIOS from the CD. i am thinking it is a corrupt BIOS or something has gone wonky with their "double BIOS".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2008, 04:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 194
Default

moved hd wires around fixed it wierd.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2008, 05:03 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, it seems like Gigabyte's X58 boards are really buggy, like I mean, they have simple fixes, but they shouldn't be this problematic... Should I go with a different one for my build?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2008, 05:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 194
Default

I think it is luck of the draw.

I been hearing alot of good things about the board in regards to bios update. I am still running the default bios until I get my water gear in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes