Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 07:41 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default HT question [possible problem]

i am little confusing... i already enabled HT in bios and install winxp pro...

but the properties said i use 1.74ghz and there are 2.6ghz on it too...

i test the cpu-id and see 1.74ghz :\

so whats up? is it normal or problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by see old: gen2 computer at my signature
old: no brand silver case, 3g365p-ve, p4 2.6GHz HT, ga-8sq800 ultra, 1024 gb of generic ram (:oops:), MSI ti4200 8x 128mb, 520gb of HDD ( two maxtor and one seagate) and other
edit:

ps. should i enable HT for many good reasons?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; December 4, 2008 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 10:17 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i found out that my bios is screwed up... i can't reset it anymore... so i am forced to oc it...


any suggest to reset it to factory?


here i have
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processors 2.60 GHz - SL6WS
pc2700 (1gb generic ram) but cpu-id said AMD... wtf?

any tip if i can't reset it...


ps. all intel prefer 1:1... right?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 11:51 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I had a problem with my bios on my P35 board after a power outage... I figured the board was toast, so I thought I might as well flash it to the newest bios, and it fixed it..... Including the errors I was getting in memtest no matter what sticks I was testing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:41 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i think about re-flash the bios... i dont know if it will be working because the bios already have a latest version...

i will do it tomorrow...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 02:56 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

just curious... why i can't update or degrade the bios version? the error is like "error id".. what does it mean?

and i think maybe ps is at the fault because of 350 watts probably can't handle both cpu (2.6c) and video card (7800gs)


do you think i should buy 1gb hyper x pc2 3200 (ddr400) for 50cdn? ( i need 2gb tho)
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 03:23 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Okies, your not going to like this....
But I had built many many networks in my past NT carrer. In a time when p2 boards when the norm And the 440BX was the Skulltrail. Back than, there was a real prob with 'culled' bios's. SOme where salvaged from an existing chipset. If you have a MOBO that says it supports HT, but has a prob, dont update the BIOS, check the serials of the board, IVe had mant Asus boars back than that said they were Asus but had a plagarized bios. ITs IT, it happens. When I checked the serial at the bottom of the BIOS flash POST screen, I found out that it wasnt lisenced, and it was culled to a chipset that really sold by another company like PCchips and sold by ASUS....... BAD....

GigaBYTE FTW

or have another beer... Any one want one?

Oh, and I jsut remembered that back than , there was HT. Its nothing new....

Study up your CPU's in MULTITHREADING, HT is intels copout for not being able to compete with SUN UltraSPARC, MIPS, DEC Alpha and HP..

So, can your mobo really support HT?
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 03:37 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

interesting...

but a few years i able to update it (f8a) from f5 without any problems... so it can't be "fake one"

i remember i have 2.6c with ti-4200 and i see 2.6ghz (or have/see 2.4ghz) on my computer... so thats i though of it..

no thanks i dont drink ;p

yeah i just swap it from old 2.4 like a year ago... it was free... i thought 2.6 HT would be great for muliple-tasking... game... probably not...


but i already gave it to my brother... he needs it anyway...


yes ga-8sq800 does support HT... check at this GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-8SQ800
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes