Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 02:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default Totally Screwed Up !! Help no display

I just finished installing a new cpu cooler - OCZ Vendetta 2. After a couple of bruised fingers, I got it firmly inplace. I turned the computer on - the cpu fan came on, the case fans are running, I could hear the clicking of drives, but not display. Nothing ! I have pulled the memory boards out and back, the video card out and back and a few minutes ago reset the cmos..no luck. I noticed that the blue light that shows harddrive access is on steady instead of blinking to show access. Is this a clue ? I am at a loss what else to check. Please help.

Thanks
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:12 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

EEK! Is the DVI cable still firmly plugged into the back of the monitor (I know it sounds dumb, but it happened to me once- not that I'm a model problem solver :-)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Did you use the same plug for the CPU fan?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:21 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

if you pulled your cpu out during the switch you might have to re-seed it, i just had that problem with my old P4. i pulled it to clean off the old thermal paste, and when i rebooted it i had the same issue, everything but the monitor came on.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

I did not pull the cpu - I just removed the stock cpu cooler and replaced it with the Vendetta. I had to remove the video card and one memory card to get some needed room, but replaced the video card and the memory card. I've even tried a space memory card but no luck. My video card has two DVI connections at the back and have tried both - no dice either. The fact the the disk access light is on steady does that mean something ?
The new cpu cooler has its own cpu fan plug. The cpu cooler fan works .
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:30 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Maybe check to see if one of your Sata cables is loose...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:37 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

We're starting with the easy things you might have missed, and will carry on to more detail later. (Most of us have had one of those days were the problem is staring us right in the face and we just can't see it... :) ).

That vid card doesn't require a molex connector does it?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 03:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
We're starting with the easy things you might have missed, and will carry on to more detail later. (Most of us have had one of those days were the problem is staring us right in the face and we just can't see it... :) ).

That vid card doesn't require a molex connector does it?

I understand and I appreciate the help. No the video card does not need an additional power connector. Is there a way that I could eliminate the video card ? I don't want to buy another card only to find that its the cpu or the motherboard.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.

Last edited by Malam; December 3, 2008 at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 11:24 PM
random_2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 62
Default

I really could be barking up the wrong tree here, but I think I ran into a similar problem where I had to reset the monitor input to HDMI from either RGB or Component.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2008, 04:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I would also check all the other wires from the PSU; the last time I had a blank display problem it was because the 4-pin CPU power connector was not plugged in :P

One of the ways I use to eliminate video card problems while monitorless is booting up an OS (either your main OS or a Ubuntu live CD) and listening for a LOGIN SOUND on my speakers and / or the usual disk thrashing that's involved with loading an OS. Hopefully you have a LiveCD lying around and/or you didn't nuke the Vista login sounds like I usually do. If I know my computer is at least able to boot up an OS, I can safely start diagnosing video card problems.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes