Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 06:22 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default random crashes

My computer has been having random crashes for a while now. I'll be doing something (doesn't matter what), then I'll get the BSOD, it will "dump physical memory to disk" (the wording may be a bit different, it only lasts a second) then shut off, restart, get as far as loading windows and then die again. It will loop until I flick the power/unplug and restart. Then it will work again for an unpredictable amount of time.

Its the OS that kills it (x64 Vista, although I don't think it matters) since it never crashes until windows tries to load, but I think the cause is hardware, since there is no predictable trigger, that is to say no specific program or action that will kill it.

If I let it cycle enough times it will sometimes (but not always) bring up a BIOS message saying that my overclock failed. The only think OCd is the RAM, which is only brought up as far as the factory specs (it defaults to slower, but same voltage). From having a simmilar issue on my laptop a few years back, I'd guess MOBO, but I can't back that up.

I've tried running benchmarks of various subsystems to try and provoke a crash, but nothing happens.

After all that, any thoughts? any and all suggestions appreciated.
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 07:14 PM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Memory, constant random crashes I always suspect memory, do you have access to some tam you can borrow to test with?
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 07:30 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default

I don't have any to borrow. I'll look into finding some, but in the meantime I've bumped up the voltage a bit (just 0.05V above the recommended). That was only half an hour ago, though, so we'll have to wait and see.
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 09:55 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Do a favor for us, check the windows logs, you can get to them by "Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer". It should look something like this:



Let us know what kind of errors(if any) the event log has recorded. The answer may be hidden in those logs. That being said I'm leaning towards a possible defective ram theory.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 10:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,601
Default

Wait. your running your memory at spec'd voltage then bumped it up? Shouldn't have to do that.

Have you ran memtest or p95 to see if you have any system instability?

I see your running a P35 board and Crucial memory; you may perhaps have crucial memory that had a problem with a P35 chipset.

But I would for sure run memtest or even p95 and see if you get errors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 05:18 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Wait. your running your memory at spec'd voltage then bumped it up? Shouldn't have to do that.

Have you ran memtest or p95 to see if you have any system instability?

I see your running a P35 board and Crucial memory; you may perhaps have crucial memory that had a problem with a P35 chipset.

But I would for sure run memtest or even p95 and see if you get errors.

Actually he may have too, Thanks to JEDEC's inability to write clean specs, most memory requires over voltage these days. Hell my old 4x1GB required over voltage of .7 just to boot and run. My DFI board over voltages my memory by a small margin automagicially because I have 4 sticks. I have heard others need a small voltage rise even with 2. JEDEC isn;t that great at writing electrical specifications, there was a great White Paper on this issue on Corsair's site.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 06:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I'll second Enaberif's suggestions, and add removing the vid driver with driversweeper, and reinstalling/updating it. I suspect the ram, but i've seen bad vid driver installs cause random crashes too, especially if you tend to leave your computer on all the time. When you look at that log file, if it has anything that says "nv" in it, its definatly the vid driver.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 06:25 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default

Yeah, bumping the voltage did nothing (I tried bringing it up another notch. no effect at all). I haven't run memtest, only the Orthos memory test. It didn't die for about 10 minutes (20min total uptime is about par for the course right now, so it didn't shorten it at all). I'll try to get a hold of memtest and see.

as for the error logs (last 24h): 81 errors
the causes of errors seem to vary- no one operation is mostly responsible.
a list of the repeating ones:
WMI: 20 times
Httpevent: 22 times
Service Control manager eventlog provider: 18 times
eventlog: 15 times
other than that, a few random applications did it once or twice

I don't think its a board compatibility issue. Asus specifically lists this RAM as compatible, and I built this thing back in April, with no troubles until late October. I don't know what the voltage was before I started playing with it (ASUS boards only tell you that its "auto" by default, not what it automatically chose.) I've got it at 2.1V right now, and Crucial recommends 2.0. Doesn't seem to have made a difference. I'll get memtest and post results soon. Thanks guys
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 07:13 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default

well, memtest ran rock solid for 40 minutes, 0 errors. As for the video drivers, I updated last night, after the troubles started, and nothing changed.

so the memory's probably alright. any other suggestions?
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2008, 07:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

Heh 40 minutes doesn't guarantee that the memory is good, but it's a start at least.

I know folks hate to do this, but have you tried to re-install the OS? If it's a driver issue, you could spend days/weeks trying to track down the problem while an OS install shouldn't take more than 4 hours or so.

Not everybody will agree with this method of faultfinding, but it would certainly help to point towards hardware if the problems continue after a fresh install.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes